The Spell of New Mexico by Tony, editor. Hillerman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


A rich gathering of essays that evoke the unique and mysterious appeal New Mexico has had for some of the twentieth century’s best-known writers. Included are selections by Mary Austin, Oliver La Farge, Conrad Richter, D.H. Lawrence, C.G. Jung, Winfield Townley Scott, John DeWitt McKee, Ernie Pyle, Harvey Fergusson, and Lawrence Clark Powell. Hillerman’s preface and introduction are choice specimens of his incisive humor and his own deep love of the state.

“Should be required reading for all those who call themselves New Mexican.”—James Arnholz


About Tony, editor. Hillerman

See more books from this Author
Tony Hillerman was born in Sacred Heart, Oklahoma on May 27, 1925. He attended Oklahoma A & M College and the University of Oklahoma. During World War II, he enlisted in the Army and was awarded the Silver Star, the Bronze Star and the Purple Heart after being severely injured during a raid behind German lines. As a journalist, he has worked for newspapers in Oklahoma and for UPI. He has been a political reporter in Santa Fe, a professor of journalism and chair of the journalism department at the University of New Mexico, and assistant to the president of that university. The American Southwest and its landscape and peoples, particularly the Navajo, are the focus for many of his mysteries. He hopes that people learn more about Native Americans and their cultures by reading his books, and he draws upon their many traditions and stories for his novels. As people read his work, they are learning about another culture and history as well as enjoying a finely crafted mystery. His two detectives---Officer Jim Chee and Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn---first came together in Skinwalkers (1987). He received numerous awards during his lifetime including the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Mystery Novel for Dance Hall of the Dead in 1974, the Mystery Writers of America's Grand Master Award in 1991, the Western Writers of America's Golden Spur Award for Skinwalkers in 1987, and the Navajo tribe's Special Friend Award. His best-selling novels include The First Eagle, The Fallen Man, and Finding Moon. He died from pulmonary failure on October 26, 2008 at the age of 83.
Published January 1, 1976 by University of New Mexico Press. 105 pages
Genres: History, Travel, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for The Spell of New Mexico

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review