The Start of Everything by Emily Winslow
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

In this stunning psychological thriller for readers of Tana French, Kate Atkinson, and Donna Tartt, Emily Winslow has crafted a literary prism told through the eyes of her many intricately drawn characters. Masterly and mesmerizing, The Start of Everything will captivate until the very last page.
 
“If you don’t want to see me again, say so. But it’s not right to say nothing. It’s not right to go silent. You know what to do.”
 
Cambridge, England: Outside the city, the badly decomposed body of a teenage girl has washed up in the flooded fens. Detective Inspector Chloe Frohmann and her partner, Morris Keene, must work quickly to identify the victim before the press takes off with the salacious story.
 
Across the hallowed paths and storied squares of Cambridge University, the detectives follow scant clues toward the identity of the dead girl. Eventually, their search leads them to Deeping House, an imposing country manor where, over the course of one Christmas holiday, three families, two nannies, and one young writer were snowed in together. Chloe Frohmann begins to unravel a tangled web of passions and secrets, of long-buried crimes and freshly committed horrors. But in order to reveal the truth—about misaddressed letters, a devastating affair, and a murdered teenager—she may have to betray her partner.

“Emily Winslow effortlessly weaves together separate lives with intertwined lies, creating a powerful web of small deceits and horrifying misdeeds. The Start of Everything is a must read!”—#1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner
 

About Emily Winslow

See more books from this Author
Emily Winslow is an American living in England. She's the author of The Whole World (published by Delacorte in 2010) and is at work on her next novel of suspense, also to be set in Cambridge. Her training as an actress at Carnegie Mellon's elite drama conservatory is put to use in her multiple first-person narrators, and her years designing puzzles for Games magazine inform her playful, complex plot structures. She and her husband live in Cambridge with their two sons, in a house full of books.
 
Published January 8, 2013 by Delacorte Press. 273 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Start of Everything

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

If the book has one central flaw, it’s that the characters are uniformly difficult to like, particularly the female police officer Chloe, and their actions don’t always make sense in the context of the plot.

Sep 27 2012 | Read Full Review of The Start of Everything: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Start of Everything
69%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 24 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×