The Stolen Bacillus and Other Incidents by H. G. (Herbert George) Wells

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


This carefully crafted ebook: “The Stolen Bacillus and other incidents (The original 1895 edition of 15 fantasy and science fiction short stories)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.

The Stolen Bacillus and Other Incidents is a collection of fifteen fantasy and science fiction short stories written by the English author H. G. Wells between 1893 and 1895. It was first published by Methuen & Co. in 1895 and was Wells's first book of short stories. All of the stories had first been published in various weekly and monthly periodicals.

Table of contents:

"The Stolen Bacillus" (Pall Mall Budget, 21 June 1894)

"The Flowering of the Strange Orchid" (Pall Mall Budget, 2 August 1894)

"In the Avu Observatory" (Pall Mall Budget, 9 August 1894)

"The Triumphs of a Taxidermist" (Pall Mall Gazette, 3 March 1894)

"A Deal in Ostriches" (Pall Mall Budget, 20 December 1894)

"Through a Window" (Black and White, 25 August 1894)

"The Temptation of Harringay" (The St. James’s Gazette, 9 February 1895)

"The Flying Man" (Pall Mall Gazette, December 1893)

"The Diamond Maker" (Pall Mall Budget, 16 August 1894)

"Æpyornis Island" (Pall Mall Budget, 27 December 1894)

"The Remarkable Case of Davidson’s Eyes" (Pall Mall Budget, 28 March 1895)

"The Lord of the Dynamos" (Pall Mall Budget, 6 September 1894)

"The Hammerpond Park Burglary" (Pall Mall Budget, 5 July 1894)

"The Moth" (Pall Mall Gazette, 28 March 1895)

"The Treasure in the Forest" (Pall Mall Budget, 23 August 1894)

Herbert George "H. G." Wells (1866 – 1946) was an English writer, now best known for his work in the science fiction genre. He was also a prolific writer in many other genres, including contemporary novels, history, politics and social commentary, even writing textbooks and rules for war games. Wells is one person sometimes called "The Father of Science Fiction", as are Jules Verne and Hugo Gernsback. His most notable science fiction works include The War of the Worlds, The Time Machine, The Invisible Man and The Island of Doctor Moreau.


About H. G. (Herbert George) Wells

See more books from this Author
H.G. Wells was born in Bromley, England, the son of an unsuccessful merchant. After a limited education, he was apprenticed to a dry-goods merchant, but soon found he wanted something more out of life. He read widely and got a position as a student assistant in a secondary school, eventually winning a scholarship to the College of Science in South Kensington, where he studied biology under the British biologist and educator, Thomas Henry Huxley. After graduating, Wells took several different teaching positions and began writing for magazines. When his stories began to sell, he left teaching to write full time. Wells's first major novel, The Time Machine (1895), launched his career as a writer, and he began to produce a steady stream of science-fiction tales, short stories, realistic novels, and books of sociology, history, science, and biography, producing one or more books a year. Much of Wells's work is forward-looking, peering into the future of prophesy social and scientific developments, sometimes with amazing accuracy. Along with French writer Jules Verne, Wells is credited with popularizing science fiction, and such novels as The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds (1898) are still widely read. Many of Wells's stories are based on his own experiences. The History of Mr. Polly (1910) draws on the life of Wells's father. Kipps (1905) uses Wells's experience as an apprentice, and Love and Mr. Lewisham (1900) draws on Wells's experiences as a school teacher. Wells also wrote stories showing how the world could be a better place. One such story is A Modern Utopia (1905). As a writer, Wells's range was exceptionally wide and his imagination extremely fertile. While time may have caught up with him (many of the things he predicted have already come to pass), he remains an interesting writer because of his ability to tell a lively tale.
Published September 5, 2013 by e-artnow ebooks. 119 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Horror. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for The Stolen Bacillus and Other Incidents

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review