The Storm Dragon's Heart by David Alastair Hayden
(Storm Phase Book 1)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

STORM PHASEA teenage wizard burdened with a mysterious destiny, a cat-girl ninja he can't help but fall for, and a bat-winged daemon that doubles as a diary embark on a journey of self-discovery in a world teeming with monsters and magic. Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Avatar: the Last Airbender, this enchanting Asian-inspired fantasy series delivers fast-paced adventure for readers young and old.   Book 1: THE STORM DRAGON'S HEARTTuresobei dreams of adventure and a chance to prove he's no longer a child. Wizards should be careful what they wish for.  Destined to become his clan's next and perhaps greatest ever high wizard, Turesobei feels smothered under everyone's expectations. And he's fed up with people treating him like he's still a child, especially his grandfather, the current high wizard. After foiling an assassination attempt on his treasure-hunting dad, his grandfather sends Turesobei on his father's expedition to find a powerful artifact known as the Storm Dragon's Heart. He's supposed to blow off some steam and get a dose of real world experience.   But disaster strikes, and their quest becomes a race for survival.  Aided by a sassy ninja cat-girl and a mysterious diary that transforms into a bat-winged familiar, Turesobei battles sinister cultists, vengeful spirits, and a mad wizard from a rival clan who's determined to use the artifact to destroy Turesobei's homeland.   To fail is to lose everyone he loves, but success carries a terrible price.
 

About David Alastair Hayden

See more books from this Author
David Alastair Hayden scribbles and podcasts tales of fantasy adventure for young and adult readers. He lives in Alabama, along with his delightful wife and three lovely cats. David studied history, literature, and religion at the University of Alabama. He practices Yang Taijiquan, and he enjoys playing and designing roleplaying games.David is also an avid collector of vintage manual typewriters, mostly from the 1950's. All his new fiction is now composed on these machines.
 
Published November 17, 2013 by Typing Cat Press. 221 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Storm Dragon's Heart
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 25 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review