The Storyteller of Marrakesh by Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"An enigmatic fable in the tradition of 'The Thousand and One Nights.' " —Anderson Tepper, New York Times Book Review


Hassan, a storyteller, has gathered listeners in Marrakesh’s fabled Jemaa el Fna to perform his annual re-creation of the night on which two foreigners mysteriously disappeared from the square. But as his audience offers contradicting testimonies, and details transform or dissolve in the haze of memory, the couple takes on an air as enigmatic as their fate, leaving us to wonder whether Hassan is getting closer to the truth or, more disturbingly, is himself part of the mystery.
 

About Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya

See more books from this Author
Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya was educated in politics and philosophy at Presidency College, Calcutta, and the University of Pennsylvania. His novels The Gabriel Club and The Storyteller of Marrakesh have been published in fourteen languages. He lives in the Hudson Valley in upstate New York. Visit him at joydeeproybhattacharya.com.
 
Published January 31, 2011 by W. W. Norton & Company. 368 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Storyteller of Marrakesh

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

This rich and lively novel’s hero is a chronicler of Moroccan lore.

Jan 28 2011 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The result is a muddle of contradicting details, minor characters relating portentous dreams, long digressions into largely unnecessary backstories, and swaths of overripe prose from which it emerges that Hassan's brother is in prison because of the disappearance, and that while Hassan believes i...

Oct 04 2010 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

A sensual tale of Hassan, a storyteller in Marrakesh, and two foreigners who disappeared yet everyone seems to have seen.

Apr 16 2011 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

This book is written in the postmodern style, employing literary tricks such as making use of multiple narrators, multiple perspectives, and metafiction (there are stories embedded within stories: in fact, the title of the novel itself betrays this, as the novel is a story about a storyteller...

Apr 17 2011 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

Examiner

In The Storyteller of Marrakesh, Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya presents us with a multi-layered novel that juxtaposes the artistry of narration with a collision of cultures in the Jemaa (central square) of Marrakesh.

Dec 14 2010 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

Portland Book Review

I bet you will find something that will interest you wp.me/P2DwkQ-bv0 5 stars for a cleverly devised mystery set in PDX a must read for the tween reader in your family wp.me/p2DwkQ-cmT http://t.co/FN0NuUFC Hassan, the “Storyteller of Marrakesh”, sets up every night in the Jemaa el Fna, M...

Apr 21 2011 | Read Full Review of The Storyteller of Marrakesh:...

Reader Rating for The Storyteller of Marrakesh
67%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 28 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×