The Submerged Cathedral by Charlotte Wood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Spanning many years, travelling across Australia's vast continent and through some of Europe's great cities, THE SUBMERGED CATHEDRAL is a beguiling, heartbreaking story of paradise and the fall, of sacrifice and atonement, and of sisterly love and rivalry.

About Charlotte Wood

See more books from this Author
Charlotte Wood was born in 1965 in Wales. She is the author of five novels - Pieces of a Girl (1999), The Submerged Cathedral (2004), The Children (2007), Animal People (2011), and "The Natural Way of Things" (forthcoming October 2015). She has also written a collection of short personal reflections on cooking, Love & Hunger (2012). She was also editor of the anthology of writing about siblings, Brothers & Sisters (2009). Her books have been frequently short-listed for prizes. Animal People was longlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Award. In 2014 she was appointed Chair of Arts Practice, Literature, at the Australia Council for the Arts. She is working on a PhD thesis on creativity; previous degrees are a Master of Creative Arts from UTS and a BA from Charles Sturt University. She won the 2013 People's Choice Award, NSW Premier's Literary Award for Animal People. Her titles include: Pieces of a Girl, The Submerged Cathedral, The Children, and The Natural Way of Things.
Published January 1, 2004 by Random House. 302 pages
Genres: .