The Sugarhouse by Donald O'Donovan
A Novella (plus four novel excerpts)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Set in Cooperstown, New York—home of James Fenimore Cooper and baseball’s Hall of Fame—THE SUGARHOUSE recalls a simpler time in America when friendships were unqualified, peccadilloes were overlooked, and tradition defined the cornerstone of society. Donald O’Donovan takes us on a charming and sentimental trip back to a world of homespun characters, fertile fishing ponds, innocent love, and, at the center of it all, the town’s much-loved house of ill repute, the Sugarhouse.

Excerpts from four novels by Donald O’Donovan accompany THE SUGARHOUSE, including ORGASMO, NIGHT TRAIN, CONFESSIONS OF A BEDBUG HAULER and TARANTULA WOMAN.

About Donald O'Donovan

See more books from this Author
Donald O'Donovan is an optioned screenwriter and voice actor with film and audio book credits. He was born in Cooperstown, New York. A teenage runaway, O'Donovan rode freights, traveled the US, joined the army to get off the street, lived in Mexico, and worked at more than 200 occupations including long distance truck driver, undertaker and roller skate repairman. The first draft of Night Train was written on 23 yellow legal pads while the author was homeless in the streets of Los Angeles. Donald O'Donovan recently narrated the documentary film, The Forgotten, produced and directed by Sarem Yadegari. His screenplay, Cutter's Woods, is a semi-finalist in the 2009 FilmStream Screenplay Competition.
Published August 1, 2010 by Open Books. 68 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review