The Survivors Club by Ben Sherwood
The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?


Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?

The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in THE SURVIVORS CLUB. In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.

With THE SURVIVORS CLUB, you can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.

There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But THE SURVIVORS CLUB can give you an edge when adversity strikes.


About Ben Sherwood

See more books from this Author
Ben Sherwood is a bestselling author, an award-winning journalist, and the president of ABC News. His novel The Man Who Ate the 747 has been published in 13 languages, and his other novel, The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud, was made into a feature film starring Zac Efron. A former broadcast producer for NBC Nightly News, he joined Good Morning America in April 2004 as executive producer and stayed in that position until Fall 06. He lives with his wife and sons in New York City.
Published January 22, 2009 by Grand Central Publishing. 412 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Self Help, Sports & Outdoors, Biographies & Memoirs, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Professional & Technical, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Survivors Club

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Hawke's Green Beret Survival Manual by Myke Hawke 640pp, Running Press, £12.99 The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life by Ben Sherwood 383pp, Penguin, £15.99 If you're worried that your plane will crash or your hire car will skid off the road, abandoning you in t...

Jun 13 2009 | Read Full Review of The Survivors Club: The Secre...

Entertainment Weekly

Sherwood sought out survivors of all kinds of accidents — plane crashes, mountain lion attacks — and then found psychologists, ER physicians, and others who helped shed light on what had gone right for these people.

Feb 04 2009 | Read Full Review of The Survivors Club: The Secre...

The Washington Post

Then Boca Raton categorizes you into a specific type of survivor, and Sherwood spends the final 30 pages of the book defining Survivor Types and their corresponding traits.

Jan 21 2009 | Read Full Review of The Survivors Club: The Secre...

Reader Rating for The Survivors Club

An aggregated and normalized score based on 297 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review