The Sweetest Dark by Shana Abe

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

...there is Jesse. His background and powers turn out to be something new...it seemed like the Drakon mythology was being revised in order to accommodate his character...as a longtime reader, I was frustrated by what seemed like a late change.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, The Sweetest Dark is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana Abé brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
 
“With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I’d have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I’d ever envisioned. Normal would become forever out of reach.”
 
Lora Jones has always known that she’s different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora’s been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she’s far more than what she seems.
 
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England’s southern coast. Iverson’s eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
 
Jesse is the school’s groundskeeper—a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she’s only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
 
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, The Sweetest Dark brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.

Praise for The Sweetest Dark
 
“A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage—and dragons . . . I was enchanted.”—Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely
 
“Abé creates a rich and refreshing world.”—RT Book Reviews (four stars)
 
“Abe’s writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . The Sweetest Dark is the perfect fantasy read.”—Badass Book Reviews
 
“Strong and spellbinding.”—Genre Go Round Reviews


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Shana Abe

See more books from this Author
Shana Abé is the author of Queen of Dragons, The Dream Thief, and The Smoke Thief. She lives in Denver, Colorado.
 
Published April 2, 2013 by Bantam. 354 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy, History, Travel. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Sweetest Dark
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Below average
Reviewed by Janine on Apr 26 2013

...there is Jesse. His background and powers turn out to be something new...it seemed like the Drakon mythology was being revised in order to accommodate his character...as a longtime reader, I was frustrated by what seemed like a late change.

Read Full Review of The Sweetest Dark | See more reviews from Dear Author

Reader Rating for The Sweetest Dark
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 165 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×