The Taste of Tomorrow by Josh Schonwald

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews

The Taste of Tomorrow is a novel idea, yet fatally misses the fundamental spice of the food contemplation genre: development of sophisticated discourse on food politics – the inevitable roles that governments, multinational corporations, environmentalists, mono-culture agribusinesses, local communities and consumers should, do and will play in the future of our foods.
-The American Book Center Blog

Synopsis

For fans of Michael Pollan and Mark Bittman, Josh Schonwald delivers a fascinating investigation into the trends and technologies that are transforming the world of food before our very eyes—from Alice Waters's micro farm to nanotechnology and beyond. Building upon the knowledge base we have gained from such books as The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Schonwald takes our contemporary conversation about food a step further, debunking myths, clarifying controversies (such as the current storm over GMOs, or genetically modified organisms), and exploring the wild possibilities that food science and chemical engineering are making realities today—from food pills to new species of scratch-built fish.

 

About Josh Schonwald

See more books from this Author
Josh Schonwald has written for the New York Times, Washington Post, and Salon. He edits TheGreenFoodTechie.org, and lives in Evanston, Illinois with his wife, children, and indoor aquaponic system.
 
Published April 10, 2012 by Harper. 309 pages
Genres: History, Biographies & Memoirs, Business & Economics, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Professional & Technical, Political & Social Sciences. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Taste of Tomorrow
All: 5 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Excellent
Reviewed by Kirkus Review on Mar 01 2012

An articulate food book that has an opinion without being preachy and that exudes a joy about food without being oversimplified.

Read Full Review of The Taste of Tomorrow | See more reviews from Kirkus

Boston.com

Excellent
Reviewed by Jessica Gresko on May 16 2012

Luckily for readers, all this food exploration is divided into manageable and palate-pleasing bites.

Read Full Review of The Taste of Tomorrow

The American Book Center Blog

Below average
Reviewed by Julie de Graaf on Apr 26 2012

The Taste of Tomorrow is a novel idea, yet fatally misses the fundamental spice of the food contemplation genre: development of sophisticated discourse on food politics – the inevitable roles that governments, multinational corporations, environmentalists, mono-culture agribusinesses, local communities and consumers should, do and will play in the future of our foods.

Read Full Review of The Taste of Tomorrow

Leeswammes' Blog

Below average
Reviewed by Judith on Apr 19 2012

Sometimes the book goes a little too deep into the subject matter but I never found it exactly boring, just sometimes wasn’t sure I needed to know all this. T

Read Full Review of The Taste of Tomorrow

I Speak Paleo

Below average
Reviewed by PALEO on May 17 2012

Much of the book’s storytelling was interesting and indeed there was some time devoted to the benefits of eating local and organic (ubiquitous nod to Alice Waters). However great these benefits are, this was usually followed with a line like “…this is great for foodies but you can’t feed the world this way.” Argh.

Read Full Review of The Taste of Tomorrow

Reader Rating for The Taste of Tomorrow
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 43 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×