The Testament of Jessie Lamb by Jane Rogers

75%

22 Critic Reviews

Rogers raised eyebrows in the sci-fi community when she won this year's Arthur C Clarke Award with her first shot at speculative fiction.
-Guardian

Synopsis

In a chilling future, one 16-year-old girl is driven to the ultimate act of heroism. The Testament of Jessie Lamb, longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, is the breakout novel from award-winning author Jane Rogers. Its cunningly drawn characters and riveting vision of a dystopic future fraught with difficult moral choices will make The Testament of Jessie Lamb an instant favorite for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go, Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Suzanne Collins’s The Hunger Games, and Brian K. Vaughan’s Y: The Last Man.

“The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face. Like Jessie’s, it is a small, calm voice of reason in a nonsensical world.” —The Independent

 

About Jane Rogers

See more books from this Author
Jane Rogers has published eight novels, including Mr. Wroe's Virgins, Island, and The Voyage Home, as well as writing and adapting dramatic work for television and radio. She has won the Somerset Maugham Award, the Writers' Guild Best Fiction Book, has been a finalist for the Guardian Fiction Prize, and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. Her most recent novel, The Testament of Jessie Lamb, made the 13-title long list for the 2011 Booker Prize. A professor of writing at Sheffield Hallam University, she lives near Manchester in the north of England.
 
Published May 15, 2012 by Harper Perennial. 249 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Testament of Jessie Lamb
All: 22 | Positive: 18 | Negative: 4

Kirkus

Below average
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on May 01 2012

A disturbing story that, in the end, somehow seems a bit shallow.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Excellent
Reviewed by Alfred Hickling on Jul 03 2012

Rogers raised eyebrows in the sci-fi community when she won this year's Arthur C Clarke Award with her first shot at speculative fiction.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb | See more reviews from Guardian

Blog Critics

Excellent
Reviewed by Tim Gebhart on Aug 17 2012

Yet Rogers allows the reader to reach their conclusion but unfolding the struggles of a young woman in finding her place and her own way in a confusing world beset by turmoil.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb | See more reviews from Blog Critics

The Independent

Excellent
Reviewed by Emma Hagestadt on Jul 07 2012

Set in the near future, the novel introduces us to a world in which a deadly virus, Maternal Death Syndrome, is wiping out all pregnant women.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

The Independent

Excellent
Reviewed by Katy Guest on Feb 20 2011

The novel does not set up an elaborate apocalypse, but astringently strips away the smears hiding the apocalypses we really face.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

PopMatters

Excellent
Reviewed by Catherine Ramsdell on Jun 08 2012

...the story weaves the complexities of a pretty average modern family with issues related to woman’s rights, genetic research, animal rights, and the environmental. The result is a compelling, page turner of a novel.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Curious Book Fans

Excellent
Reviewed by collingwood21 on Aug 19 2012

Regardless of what your opinion is, The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a well-written and thought provoking read.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Strange Horizons

Excellent
Reviewed by Niall Harrison on Oct 10 2011

The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a test for us, filtered through what is, despite its plainness, one of the most challenging young adult voices I've encountered for some time.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Scottish Review of Books

Below average
Reviewed by Lesley McDowell on May 13 2011

The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a novel that misses too many of its targets, which is a pity as it had potential.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Fantasy Book Review

Good
Reviewed by Brian Herstig

I found it to be extremely compelling, expertly written, and very insightful in a non-preachy way.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Jenn's Bookshelves

Good
Reviewed by Jenn on May 15 2012

The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a book that left me reeling, truly examining the way we as society view the individual’s right to choose.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Devourer of Books

Good
Reviewed by Jen on Apr 24 2012

The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a fascinating book to read...because it raises questions of fertility, reproduction, and women’s control over their bodies...

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

SF Reviews

Good
Reviewed by Thomas M. Wagner

This novel...is quietly triumphant, delicate in its understanding of courage

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Between The Covers

Good
Reviewed by Moi on Apr 24 2012

I enjoyed reading this book...and the thoughts and discussions it provoked, and I think it’s worth the read just for that reason.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Boston Bibliophile

Good
Reviewed by Marie on May 15 2012

It's a genuinely creepy and disturbing dystopia, with a heroine who exhibits all the symptoms of teenage narcissism and still decides to take an active role in what's going on.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

JulzReads

Good
Reviewed by Julz on May 16 2012

Overall, it was a captivating novel with an engaging premise.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

For Winter Nights

Below average
Reviewed by Kate on Jul 15 2012

But my overriding impression of The Testament of Jessie Lamb is tedium, aggravated by the two-dimensional characterisation.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Book Monkey

Good
Reviewed by Emma on May 31 2012

Within a matter of pages I was immediately hooked by the story...and the world in which she lives. Jessie is a young girl growing up in a very strange world.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Ageless Pages Reviews

Below average
Reviewed by Jessie on May 20 2012

The Testament of Jessie Lamb is a book that can be alternatively thoughtful or frustrating as interesting aspects of the book can be shortchanged for less original and compelling ideas, like the parents.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Fantasy Book Critic

Good
Reviewed by Robert Thompson on Aug 29 2011

All in all, The Testament of Jessie Lamb (A+) is a worthy Booker addition and a very well written book I would wholly recommend...however not that original as sf per se - has a place on any literary prize list if the writing style is there.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Respiring Thoughts

Good
Reviewed by Renae on Jul 28 2012

I enjoyed it for the most part and think Jane Rogers came up with an interesting situation and image of humanity in this piece.

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Tethyan Books

Good
Reviewed by Allie on Aug 20 2012

I appreciated the novel as a look into the thought process that could lead a young girl to decide to throw away her life for a cause...

Read Full Review of The Testament of Jessie Lamb

Reader Rating for The Testament of Jessie Lamb
57%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 23 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×