The Tower by Simon Toyne
A Novel (Sanctus Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

As they seek to reunite, a religious prophecy may lead everyone to the end of days. Toyne's descriptive skill makes for a story that is cinematically vivid. With many characters separated by time and space, the plot takes a while to cohere, but the relentless pace makes the action addicting.
-Publishers Weekly

Synopsis

In The Tower, the thrilling conclusion to Simon Toyne’s bestselling Sanctus trilogy, an ominous countdown has begun that some believe could be the first sign of an imminent global catastrophe.
 
Toyne’s latest thriller opens at the NASA Control Center in Maryland where the center’s director has gone missing and all that can be found is a bizarre message on his computer screen. FBI Agent J. J. Shepherd believes some of this might be related to an explosion at the Citadel, a secretive monastery in Ruin, Turkey; the viral outbreak that followed there; and the chilling disappearance of a woman named Liv Adamsen.
 
As strange events and natural disasters occur around the world, Liv searches for the final secrets of the prophecy, while inside the walls of the Ruin, her lover, Gabriel Mann, infected by the virus, battles to survive. Is this the end of days?
 
In the tradition of Dan Brown’s The DaVinci Code and Steve Berry’s The Columbus Affair, The Tower will keep you riveted until the very last twist.

 

About Simon Toyne

See more books from this Author
Simon Toyne worked in British television for twenty years. As a writer, director and producer he's worked on several award-winning shows, one of which won a BAFTA. He lives in England with his wife and family. This is the final volume in the Sanctus trilogy following Sanctus and The Key.
 
Published April 11, 2013 by HarperCollins. 480 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Crime, Horror. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Tower
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Above average
on Jul 22 2013

As they seek to reunite, a religious prophecy may lead everyone to the end of days. Toyne's descriptive skill makes for a story that is cinematically vivid. With many characters separated by time and space, the plot takes a while to cohere, but the relentless pace makes the action addicting.

Read Full Review of The Tower: A Novel (Sanctus T... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Reader Rating for The Tower
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 158 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×