The Traitor's Emblem by Juan Gomez-Jurado
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews



The Straits of Gibraltar, 1940. In the heart of a storm at sea, Captain GonzÁlez rescues a group of German castaways. When the torrent subsides, the leader of the survivors gratefully offers the captain a strange-looking emblem made of gold and diamonds, in exchange for safe passage to the coast of Portugal. Decades later, in 2002, the son of captain GonzÁlez receives a substantial offer for the emblem. He does not sell it, but the buyer reveals an astounding story behind that mysterious object: it holds the key to Paul Reiner’s lifelong quest... 

Munich, 1919. After his family fall into disgrace, 15-year-old Paul Reiner and his mother work as servants in the palace of Baron Von Schroeder. Unhappy and full of despair, Paul dreams of the heroic father he never knew. But one night, seconds before committing suicide, Paul's cousin reveals a terrible secret. Paul's father didn't die in the First World War, as he had always been told. He was killed by someone very close to him, and for unclear reasons. This discovery turns Paul's world upside down and from that moment, Paul sacrifices everything to discover the truth behind his father's death, even his love for Alys Tannenbaum, a Jewish photographer who helps him on his dangerous pursuit. Together they fight for their love, the truth behind Paul's family and the vengeance of Paul's half brother who rises to become a high-ranking Nazi and on Hitler's orders and successfully infiltrates the Mason organization to root out their Jewish members.

In the vein of Dumas' and ZafÓn's masterpieces, Juan Gomez-Jurado's The Traitor's Emblem is an epic novel spanning decades of family betrayal, impossible love and the high price of vengeance. Set against the dark and menacing streets of Depression-era Munich and the cruel rise of Nazism, GÓmez-Jurado's spellbinding thriller proves again that he is a master of narration.


About Juan Gomez-Jurado

See more books from this Author
Juan Gómez-Jurado is an award-winning journalist and bestselling author. The Moses Expedition and his prize-winning first novel, God’s Spy, have been published in more than forty countries and have become international bestsellers. In 2010, Juan celebrated reaching 3 million readers worldwide. He is a recipient of the prestigious Premio de Novela Ciudad de Torrevieja. Gómez-Jurado lives with his family in Madrid, Spain. 
Published July 19, 2011 by Atria Books. 336 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime, War. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Traitor's Emblem

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When Jürgen attacks Paul after Paul defends the honor of a young Jewish girl, Alys Tannenbaum, both Paul and his mother flee for their lives.

Jul 19 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In 1919 Munich, Alys Tannenbaum, the pretty 15-year-old daughter of a wealthy Jewish businessman who keeps her on a tight leash, meets impoverished 15-year-old Paul Reiner at a birthday party for Paul's obnoxious aristocratic cousin, Jürgen von Schroeder.

May 23 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

A man seeks the truth about his father's death while Hitler is murdering his way to power.

Jul 14 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

In contrast to stories about heroics, Paul finds that his father has been a family disgrace but is alive — he had betrayed a naval command and had stolen a horde of uncut diamonds and hidden them from local Africans who had mistaken them for mere unpolished rocks.

Jul 14 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

City Book Review

Love, revenge, and betrayal – all themes appearing in the new book The Traitor’s Emblem, by Spanish author Juan Gomez-Jurado, which tells the story of two brothers in pre-World War II Germany.

Oct 06 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

Mysterious Reviews

When this is done he is promised to receive Hitler's highest medal, a gold emblem, a two-headed eagle on a Teutonic cross diamond … which is also the emblem of a thirty-second-degree Mason.

| Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

ABC Perth

Past atrocities in South West Africa, the rise of the Nazis and the barbarous nature of the last century, The Traitor's Emblem is, as Gomez-Jurado writes at one stage, also a "look at the calm, clear nightmare into which Germany was plunging so enthusiastically".

Sep 09 2011 | Read Full Review of The Traitor's Emblem: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Traitor's Emblem

An aggregated and normalized score based on 29 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review