The Trouble Boy by Tom Dolby
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of Bright Lights, Big City and Less Than Zero, Tom Dolby has written a searing debut novel about going after what you really want without losing yourself in the process. Powerfully written, keenly felt, The Trouble Boy heralds an exciting new voice in fiction.



"This is about fame and celebrity and the lengths to which people will go to have a taste of it. . ."




At twenty-two, Toby Griffin wants it all--fame, fortune, an Oscar-winning screenplay and a good-looking boyfriend by his side. For now, what he's got is a freelance writing job at a tanking online magazine, a walk-up sublet in the East Village and "the boys," a young posse of preppy Upper East Siders with a taste for high fashion, top-shelf liquor and other men.




But for Toby, downing vodka cranberries and falling in and out of lust with a series of guys he knows as Subway Boy, Loft Boy and Goth Boy is getting old. That all changes when Toby gets the chance of a lifetime--working as a personal assistant to hip, ruthless film mogul, Cameron Cole. In this decadent, drug-fueled world of VIP lounges, endless networking and relentless hype, Toby discovers that nothing is what is seems and that anything and anyone can be spun into PR gold. Though he's making friends with all the right people. Toby realizes that succeeding in Manhattan isn't as easy as he thought--until the one tragic night that changes his future forever and puts him in a position of power he never could have imagined.




But with Toby's name suddenly becoming Page Six material, his life is coming unglued. And as his professional contacts betray him and his friends reveal troubling secrets, his choices become that much harder--and that much more important. Now, in his first year on his own, Toby Griffin is about to learn the price of getting everything he ever wanted.


"What really makes Toby's world so familiar--along with the author's lively, often-hilarious eye for even the most mundane social details--is the crisp prose and the snappy story."
--

The San Francisco Chronicle
 

About Tom Dolby

See more books from this Author
Tom Dolby is the author of the novels Secret Society, The Sixth Form, and The Trouble Boy. He was born in London, raised in San Francisco, and now divides his time between Manhattan's West Village and Wainscott, New York. He is a graduate of Yale University, where he received his BA in the history of art.
 
Published February 1, 2005 by Kensington. 272 pages
Genres: Gay & Lesbian, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Trouble Boy

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

When both the Web site and an exciting proposal to co-write a memoir by transsexual performer Lola Copacabana fizzle out, Toby begins work for hotshot producer Cameron Cole.

| Read Full Review of The Trouble Boy: A Novel

EDGE Boston

Furthermore, he manages to articulate an unfortunate ‘syndrome’ that many of us experience as a manifestation of guilty feelings about who we are in society – hence the uneasy sensation of being ‘in trouble.’ But all the while, it’s hard to swallow the characters as adults – there’s something sop...

Jan 01 2005 | Read Full Review of The Trouble Boy: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Trouble Boy
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 33 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×