The Truth About Grief by Ruth Davis Konigsberg
The Myth of Its Five Stages and the New Science of Loss

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



The five stages of grief are so deeply imbedded in our culture that no American can escape them. Every time we experience loss—a personal or national one—we hear them recited: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The stages are invoked to explain everything from how we will recover from the death of a loved one to a sudden environmental catastrophe or to the trading away of a basketball star. But the stunning fact is that there is no validity to the stages that were proposed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross more than forty years ago.

In The Truth About Grief, Ruth Davis Konigsberg shows how the five stages were based on no science but nonetheless became national myth. She explains that current research paints a completely different picture of how we actually grieve. It turns out people are pretty well programmed to get over loss. Grieving should not be a strictly regimented process, she argues; nor is the best remedy for pain always to examine it or express it at great length. The strength of Konigsberg’s message is its liberating force: there is no manual to grieving; you can do it freestyle.

In the course of clarifying our picture of grief, Konigsberg tells its history, revealing how social and cultural forces have shaped our approach to loss from the Gettysburg Address through 9/11. She examines how the American version of grief has spread to the rest of the world and contrasts it with the interpretations of other cultures—like the Chinese, who focus more on their bond with the deceased than on the emotional impact of bereavement. Konigsberg also offers a close look at Kübler-Ross herself: who she borrowed from to come up with her theory, and how she went from being a pioneering psychiatrist to a New Age healer who sought the guidance of two spirits named Salem and Pedro and declared that death did not exist.

Deeply researched and provocative, The Truth About Grief draws on history, culture, and science to upend our country’s most entrenched beliefs about its most common experience.

About Ruth Davis Konigsberg

See more books from this Author
RUTH DAVIS KONIGSBERG first heard about Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s five stages in a high school psychology class. After graduating from the University of Pennsylvania, she began a career in magazine journalism and worked as an editor for New York and Glamour. She has written for numerous publications, often about psychology. Konigsberg lives in Pelham, New York, with her husband and their two children.
Published January 4, 2011 by Simon & Schuster. 274 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Science & Math, Political & Social Sciences, Self Help, Professional & Technical, Parenting & Relationships. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Truth About Grief

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When Kübler-Ross published On Death and Dying in 1969, the country was ripe for her theory of the five stages of life’s end, mainly because it touched the zeitgeist: personal transformation through self-awareness.

| Read Full Review of The Truth About Grief: The My...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Veteran journalist Konigsberg offers a spot-on critique of Elisabeth Kübler-Ross's seminal theory—the five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

Nov 15 2010 | Read Full Review of The Truth About Grief: The My...

Story Circle Book Reviews

©Copyright to the review is held by the writer (review posting date appears on the review page).

Apr 04 2011 | Read Full Review of The Truth About Grief: The My...

Reader Rating for The Truth About Grief

An aggregated and normalized score based on 36 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review