The Truth-Teller's Lie by Sophie Hannah
A Novel previously published as Hurting Distance

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

"A superbly creepy, twisty thriller” (The Times (London)) by the internationally best-selling author of The Other Woman’s House and The Wrong Mother

Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she's never told anyone about it. Now, Naomi has another secret: her relationship with the unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can't persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she'll convince them that he is a danger to others. Naomi knows how to describe the actions of a psychopath; all she needs to do is dig up her own traumatic past.

The second book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Truth-Teller’s Lie is a chillingly smart suspense novel sure to appeal to fans of Tess Gerritsen and Gillian Flynn.

 

About Sophie Hannah

See more books from this Author
SOPHIE HANNAH is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer and an award-winning poet. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children.
 
Published September 28, 2010 by Penguin Books. 371 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Truth-Teller's Lie

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Meanwhile, Charlie and her sister, disgruntled, leave Spain for a Scottish B & B owned by Graham Angilley, where the plot twists and jerks into a tangle of coincidental meetings, duped women, rapes enacted for paying viewers, a plethora of lies and half-truths and, even worse, stifling silences a...

Oct 01 2010 | Read Full Review of The Truth-Teller's Lie: A Nov...

Huffington Post

"The Truth-Teller's Lie" (Penguin, $15), by Sophie Hannah: Sophie Hannah's "The Truth-Teller's Lie" was originally published in Britain in 2007 as "Hurting Distance," a concept that permeates the novel, as neatly summed up by one character: "It's the people we're closest to who can hurt us the most.

Sep 28 2010 | Read Full Review of The Truth-Teller's Lie: A Nov...

Zimbio

Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she's never told anyone about it.

Oct 28 2010 | Read Full Review of The Truth-Teller's Lie: A Nov...

Reader Rating for The Truth-Teller's Lie
73%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 77 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×