The Twilight of the Gods, and Other Tales by Richard Garnett

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Best known for his non-fiction and biographies, Richard Garnett published this collection of his short stories in 1888. The Twilight of the Gods and Other Tales includes the title story, in which a mortal girl meets Prometheus on a mountain top; "The Demon Pope," in which a Pope makes good on a favor owed to Lucifer, "Alexander the Ratcatcher," in which Alexander the Eighth enlists the aid of a mysterious rat-killer; "The Elixir of Life," in which the sage Aboniel issues a challenge to his seven trusted disciples; "The Philosopher and the Butterflies," in which a scholar holds discourse with insects in the garden; and twenty-three other tales.

About Richard Garnett

See more books from this Author
Published May 16, 2012 by J. Lane, the Bodley Head. 177 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, History, Religion & Spirituality, Law & Philosophy. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review