The Ultra Violets by Sophie Bell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



A smart superhero book for girls with plenty of glitter--perfect for fans of The Powerpuff Girls.

It all started with the mysterious purple goo . . .

What happens when four best friends find themselves splattered with a bubbling, genetically altering substance during a seemingly innocent sleepover in a secret, see-through, high-tech, futuristic lab? They develop superpowers, that's what! Iris, Cheri, Scarlet, and Opaline are destined to become . . .


IRIS: Visionary, artist, leader—the glitter glue that holds the group together!

CHERI: A girly girl on platform rollerskates who's never met a rescue puppy or a nail polish she didn’t immediately-and-madly love.

SCARLET: Short enough that you won’t see her sneaking up behind you. Freckled enough that you might mistake her for innocent. But look out!

OPALINE: Loveable, huggable, supershy, sweet as pie . . . or is she?


About Sophie Bell

See more books from this Author
If Sophie Bell could have just one superpower, it would be to control the frizzies come rain, snow, tornado, or monsoon. Either that or invisible-flying. Like the Ultra Violets, she once had purple hair, and it came at a terrible cost—about fifteen dollars per extension. She lives with many inappropriate shoes in Brooklyn, New York. Chris Battle ( is an Emmy-nominated animation character design artist, best known for his work on the hit Cartoon Network shows Dexter's Laboratory, The Powerpuff Girls, and Samurai Jack, as well as shows for Disney, Nickelodeon, Warner Bros, and more. Chris, his wife, and their daughter make their home in Los Angeles, and they like pancakes.
Published March 5, 2013 by Razorbill. 337 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Comics & Graphic Novels. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ultra Violets

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The tongue-in-cheek origin story of hypersparkly, girl-power superheroes.

Mar 18 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ultra Violets

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In futuristic Sync City, seven-year-old best friends Cheri, Scarlet, Iris and Opaline are having a sleepover in the laboratory where their mothers work (taking Bring Your Daughter to Work Day to anoth

Mar 25 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ultra Violets

Common Sense Media

The difference is the four characters in THE ULTRA VIOLETS are girls and best friends in a city where the top scientists and business owners are women.

Mar 05 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ultra Violets

Deseret News

It's called "The Ultra Violets" by Sophie Bell and amazingly, is printed in purple ink.

Apr 20 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ultra Violets

Gr 5–7—While on a sleepover at a supersecret lab, four second-grade friends are accidentally splashed with an experimental chemical. At the time, it doesn't seem too important. But, four years later, when the girls reunite in middle school, the "heliotropium" exposure is producing astonishing cha...

May 01 2013 | Read Full Review of The Ultra Violets

Reader Rating for The Ultra Violets

An aggregated and normalized score based on 20 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review