The Unforgotten by Laura Powell
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

There is, of course, also a reveal of the real killer in the last 20 pages, and the mystery is fairly believable and chilling. A satisfying mystery as well as a complex portrait of the effects of emotional trauma and mental illness.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel “with a slight Broadchurch feel” (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets.

It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty’s world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London’s press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher—and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her.

The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives—and the life of an innocent man—forever.

With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives.
 

About Laura Powell

See more books from this Author
LAURA POWELL spent most of her childhood with her nose in a book. She went on to study Classics at Bristol and Oxford, then spent five years working in the editorial departments of both adult and children's publishers. Laura is the author of two thrillers for teen readers, Game of Triumphs and Master of Misrule.
 
Published February 6, 2018 by Gallery Books. 304 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Unforgotten
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Nov 14 2017

There is, of course, also a reveal of the real killer in the last 20 pages, and the mystery is fairly believable and chilling. A satisfying mystery as well as a complex portrait of the effects of emotional trauma and mental illness.

Read Full Review of The Unforgotten: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Unforgotten
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×