The Unlucky Lottery Winners of Classroom 13 by Honest Lee

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Dreidemy’s absurd and cheeky illustrations depict the myriad ways that money does not buy happiness. The short, easy-to-read chapters and wry humor will appeal to fans of Captain Underpants and Wayside School. As this is but the first in a series, this interesting classroom of characters will soon meet another unlucky fate in the next book.
-Kirkus

Synopsis


For fans of Captain Underpants or Sideways Stories from Wayside School, this new chapter book series is perfect for reluctant readers.
When unlucky teacher Ms. Linda LaCrosse wins the lottery, she shares her winnings with her class--giving each student over a BILLION DOLLARS!

You might think this was nice, but it was not. It was a nasty idea! With great money comes horrible allergies, steep taxes, exploding volcanoes, and other problems. As the students of Classroom 13 are about to learn, winning the lottery is not always lucky.
What would YOU do if you won the lottery? The final chapter encourages young readers to write their OWN chapter and send it in to the author, Honest Lee.
The Unlucky Lottery Winners of Classroom 13 is the first in a new chapter book series of hilarious stories about a rather unlucky classroom. Each story is full of humor, action, and fun, and will prompt hours of conversation among friends, families, and classrooms.
© 2017 by Hachette Book Group, Inc.
 

About Honest Lee

See more books from this Author
Honest Lee is a liar! You can't trust a thing he writes. He insists that his stories are true. And they're totally not! Then again, I could be Honest Lee, which would mean I'm lying and my stories are true. What's the truth? I have no idea. Honestly.Matthew J. Gilbert is one of many Matthew Gilberts. Seriously. There's like a trillion of them. This particular Matthew Gilbert writes stories and has a nearly perfect mustache. When he's not writing about Classroom 13, he's watching monster movies, eating tacos, and singing made-up songs about his cats.Joelle Dreidemy spent her childhood in the countryside among cows and books, and has been drawing since she learned to walk. She lives in France, where she makes art for books, magazines, greeting cards, and more. When she's not illustrating, she sings and plays guitar in a rock band.
 
Published June 6, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 125 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Unlucky Lottery Winners of Classroom 13
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 29 2017

Dreidemy’s absurd and cheeky illustrations depict the myriad ways that money does not buy happiness. The short, easy-to-read chapters and wry humor will appeal to fans of Captain Underpants and Wayside School. As this is but the first in a series, this interesting classroom of characters will soon meet another unlucky fate in the next book.

Read Full Review of The Unlucky Lottery Winners o... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×