The Upside of Irrationality by Dr. Dan Ariely
The Unexpected Benefits of Defying Logic at Work and at Home

76%

8 Critic Reviews

He writes perceptively about his excruciating experience to effectively back up various behavioral concepts—such as why some victims of accidents develop a heightened tolerance for pain, while terminal cancer victims do not. Consistently sharp.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

“Dan Ariely is a genius at understanding human behavior: no economist does a better job of uncovering and explaining the hidden reasons for the weird ways we act.” — James Surowiecki, author of The Wisdom of Crowds

Behavioral economist and New York Times bestselling author of Predictably Irrational Dan Ariely returns to offer a much-needed take on the irrational decisions that influence our dating lives, our workplace experiences, and our temptation to cheat in any and all areas. Fans of Freakonomics, Survival of the Sickest, and Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink and The Tipping Point will find many thought-provoking insights in The Upside of Irrationality.

 

About Dr. Dan Ariely

See more books from this Author
Dan Ariely is the James B. Duke Professor of Psychology and Behavioral Economics at Duke University. He is the founder and director of the Center for Advanced Hindsight. His work has been featured in many outlets, including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, the Boston Globe, and others. He lives in Durham, North Carolina, with his wife, Sumi, and their two creative children, Amit and Neta.
 
Published May 14, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 352 pages
Genres: Business & Economics, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Political & Social Sciences, Education & Reference, Science & Math, Professional & Technical, Self Help, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, History, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon15
Peak Rank on Apr 12 2015
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Upside of Irrationality
All: 8 | Positive: 7 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Good
on Jan 19 2010

He writes perceptively about his excruciating experience to effectively back up various behavioral concepts—such as why some victims of accidents develop a heightened tolerance for pain, while terminal cancer victims do not. Consistently sharp.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ... | See more reviews from Kirkus

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by Kyla Dunn on Jun 04 2010

At times, “The Upside of Irrationality” comes across as a lighter, less elegant version of “Predictably Irrational,” and Ariely sometimes indulges too extensively in the minutiae of his autobiography. But deciding how to apply his insights is a pleasure that lingers long after the book is finished.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ... | See more reviews from NY Times

Boing Boing

Above average
Reviewed by Cory Doctorow on Jun 17 2010

But even when Ariely fails to deliver easy-to-follow advice for improving our lives, he still does deliver the same thought-provoking, fascinating experimental evidence for irrationality itself.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Ford Literary Blog

Good
Reviewed by Meg Trauner on Jul 13 2010

A personal story and an engrossing read, the book feels like a long discussion over dinner. Upside is one of the best books of the year.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Inc.

Good
Reviewed by Jack Covert on Jul 09 2010

It is not often that I would suggest that you pick up a business book as a "beach read." The Upside of Irrationality book is an exception. Take it to the cottage and enjoy and learn.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Executive Book Summaries

Good
on Jan 19 2011

The book is a fast read and contains plenty of thought-provoking material for meetings. It will leave the reader wondering what area of human behavior will next fall under Ariely’s acute lens.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Forbes India.

Good
Reviewed by Pravin Palande on Oct 30 2010

Upside… is at times very funny, always free-flowing, and could become one of the best first books on behavioural finance.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Neuromarketing

Above average
on Jul 12 2011

There’s a lot to like in The Upside of Irrationality for anyone interested in the quirks of human behavior and how that knowledge can relate to real-world situations.

Read Full Review of The Upside of Irrationality: ...

Reader Rating for The Upside of Irrationality
73%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 316 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×