The Visitors by Simon Sylvester

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The mystery plot is clearly wrapped up, but the mythic echoes are allowed to resonate, making the reader question the line between story and truth. Successfully explores the power of stories and storytelling across place and time.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In the tradition of Neil Gaiman and Iain Banks, Simon Sylvester brings an ancient myth to life with this lush, atmospheric coming-of-age tale

Nobody comes to the remote Scottish island of Bancree, and seventeen-year-old Flora can’t wait to move to the mainland when she finishes school. So when a mysterious man and his daughter move into isolated Dog Cottage, Flora is curious. What could have brought these strangers to the island? The man is seductive but radiates menace, while Flo finds a kindred spirit in his daughter, Ailsa.

Meanwhile, several of the men on Bancree have disappeared, unnerving the community. When a body washes ashore, suspicion turns to the newcomers. But Flo suspects something else, even though it seems impossible: She asks local residents for anything they know about”selkies,” the mythical women who can turn from seal to human and back again.

Convinced of her new neighbors’ innocence, Flo is fiercely determined to protect her friend Ailsa. Can the answer to the disappearances, and to the pull of her own heart, lie out there, beyond the waves?


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Simon Sylvester

See more books from this Author
SIMON SYLVESTER is a writer, teacher, and occasional filmmaker. After working as a camera assistant and journalist, he began writing fiction, and his short sotries are published regularly in literary journals. He lives in Cumbria with his partner and their daughter.


Author Residence: Cumbria, UK


Author Hometown: Scotland
 
Published December 29, 2015 by Melville House. 368 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime, History. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Visitors
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Sep 03 2015

The mystery plot is clearly wrapped up, but the mythic echoes are allowed to resonate, making the reader question the line between story and truth. Successfully explores the power of stories and storytelling across place and time.

Read Full Review of The Visitors | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Visitors
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 8 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review