The War of the Saints by Jorge Amado

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



A statue of Saint Barbara comes to life in order to help Manela, a beautiful girl involved in a forbidden love with a taxi driver. By the author of Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands. 25,000 first printing. $25,000 ad/promo.

About Jorge Amado

See more books from this Author
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912. Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.
Published November 1, 1993 by Bantam Books. 357 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Religion & Spirituality. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The War of the Saints

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Amado dips back into his encyclopedic knowledge of the local politics, religions, and sexual joie de vivre of his beloved Bahia in this tale of Catholicism subverted by spiritualism, of puritanism undone by joyous sap, of right-wing control undone by happy anarchy.

| Read Full Review of The War of the Saints

Reader Rating for The War of the Saints

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review