The Water Witch by Juliet Dark
A Novel (Fairwick Trilogy)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The Water Witch is a lighthearted, fast moving fantasy.
-NY Journal of Books


Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Watch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric new novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.
After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the honeysuckle forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine stream, more trouble is stirring. . . .
The enchanted town of Fairwick’s dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie’s grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter’s compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college. To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, an alluring seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.
Includes a preview of Book Three of The Fairwick Trilogy: The Angel Stone

Praise for The Water Witch
“A lighthearted, fast moving fantasy . . . The Water Witch should appeal to readers of Charlaine Harris’ Sookie Stackhouse novels.”—New York Journal of Books
“Dark has an exquisite and clear voice. . . . One is aware of being in the hands of a mistress of the fine arts of storytelling and characterization. . . . It’s all just great fun.”—Albany Chronogram
“An intriguing story that will keep readers guessing.”—Romance Reviews Today
“Readers are sure to enjoy being back in the atmospheric Fairwick. The cliffhanger ending will only leave readers clamoring for the last installment in this interesting trilogy.”—SheKnows

Praise for Book One of The Fairwick Trilogy: The Demon Lover
“Dark’s letter-perfect gothic style is a satisfying tribute to previous gothic novels, and the paranormal elements, including incubi, fae, vampires, and witches, make this a stellar romance.”—Booklist, included in its list of the year’s “Top 10 SF/Fantasy Titles”
“Steamy and nuanced.”—Kirkus Reviews

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About Juliet Dark

See more books from this Author
JULIET DARK is the pseudonym of Carol Goodman, an award-winning and critically acclaimed literary suspense writer. Carol Goodman is the nationally bestselling author of five previous novels, including The Night Villa and The Lake of Dead Languages. She lives in Upstate New York.

Author Residence: Red Hook, NY

Author Hometown: Great Neck, NY
Published February 12, 2013 by Ballantine Books. 353 pages
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Water Witch
All: 2 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 1

Dear Author

Below average
Reviewed by Amy on Feb 28 2013

I do however, have a weakness for stories of fey, gods and goddesses in the mortal modern world, and so I decided to give it try. Unfortunately, it not only did not live up to my expectations, it made me wish I had never picked up the book in the first place.

Read Full Review of The Water Witch: A Novel (Fai... | See more reviews from Dear Author

NY Journal of Books

Reviewed by Autumn Markus on Feb 12 2013

The Water Witch is a lighthearted, fast moving fantasy.

Read Full Review of The Water Witch: A Novel (Fai... | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for The Water Witch

An aggregated and normalized score based on 91 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review