The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde
A Thursday Next Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 14 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The third installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series follows literary detective Thursday Next on another adventure in her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Jasper Fforde has done it again in this genre-bending blend of crime fiction, fantasy, and top-drawer literary entertainment. After two rollicking New York Times bestselling adventures through Western literature, resourceful BookWorld literary detective Thursday Next definitely needs some downtime. And what better place for a respite than in the hidden depths of the Well of Lost Plots, where all unpublished books reside? But peace and quiet remain elusive for Thursday, who soon discovers that the Well is a veritable linguistic free-for-all, where grammasites run rampant, plot devices are hawked on the black market, and lousy books—like the one she has taken up residence in—are scrapped for salvage. To make matters worse, a murderer is stalking the personnel of Jurisfiction and it’s up to Thursday to save the day. A brilliant feat of literary showmanship filled with wit, fantasy, and effervescent originality, this Ffordian tour de force will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with Something Rotten. Look for the five other bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and Jasper Fforde’s latest bestseller, The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com for a ffull window into the Ffordian world!


 

About Jasper Fforde

See more books from this Author
JASPER FFORDE is The New York Times bestselling author of the Thursday Next series, the Nursery Crimes series, and most recently the novel Shades of Grey. He lives in Wales.
 
Published August 3, 2004 by Penguin Books. 375 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure, Children's Books. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Well of Lost Plots

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

And Thursday, aware that “without entry to books I would never see Landen again,” goes bravely off into bookdom—abetted and hindered here and there by her hardboiled partner Bowden Cable, her time-traveling dad, and post-centenarian “Gran” (condemned to live until she has read “the ten most borin...

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Between teaching her “generic” houseboys Ibb and Obb how to cook, fending off hostile grammasites (literary parasites that infest a plot with gerunds), and facing Jurisfiction charges that she changed the ending of Jane Eyre, Thursday still has to find the time to solve the various crimes now spr...

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Those new to the Thursday Next series may feel as if they've fallen down the proverbial rabbit hole after listening to a few chapters of Fforde's newest mystery (after Eyre Affair), which is set entir

Feb 23 2004 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this delicious sequel to The Eyre Affair and Lost in a Good Book , Fforde's redoubtable (and now throwing-up-pregnant)

Dec 15 2003 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

Thursday, wanting to repair Brontë's original ending in which Jane ends up with "drippy" St John Rivers, crept up to Jane's window, and imitated Rochester's bellowing voice.

Jul 26 2003 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Book Reporter

You don't have to have read Jasper Fforde's two previous novels in the Thursday Next series to enjoy his latest, THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS;

Jan 24 2011 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Entertainment Weekly

In Jasper Fforde's lovable literary-themed fantasy series, humans dash in and out of famous books, stopping for coffee, say, at the bun shop from ''Little Dorrit.'' This third entry finds detective Thursday Next chilling out in the Well of Lost Plots, the oasis in ''BookWorld'' for characters in ...

Mar 05 2004 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Reviewing the Evidence

If you are not familiar with Jasper Fforde's 2 previous books in the Thursday Next series, THE EYRE AFFAIR and LOST IN A GOOD BOOK, then THE WELL OF LOST PLOTS will be totally incomprehensible.

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Reviewing the Evidence

In Fforde's world, characters can jump from book to book and interact with the characters in other books.

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

SF Site

Jasper Fforde Website ISFDB Bibliography SF Site Review: The Eyre Affair SF Site Review: Lost In A Good Book SF Site Review: Lost In A Good Book Jasper Fforde's third Thursday Next novel is The Well of Lost Plots.

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

People

In the Character Exchange Program, she takes up residence in an unpublished police procedural called Caversham Heights, where she plays sidekick to a hard-drinking detective alongside two "generics," characters without characteristics, who are awaiting assignment to yet-to-be-written novels.

Mar 01 2004 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Large Print Reviews

Then, after reading Lost in a Good Book, be sure to have The Well of Lost Plots, the third book in this series, on hand, as you will want to immediately read the next volume in this series so that you can see what Thursday will be up to next.

Jan 22 2004 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Large Print Reviews

The high-spirited Thursday Next is back again in Jasper Fforde's third installment of the Thursday saga, The Well of Lost Plots.

Jan 22 2004 | Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

The Zone

In this latest novel, the trequel, Thursday finds herself in a somewhat less auspicious fictional space, an unpublished, routine police procedural entitled 'Caversham Heights'.

| Read Full Review of The Well of Lost Plots: A Thu...

Reader Rating for The Well of Lost Plots
83%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 147 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×