The White Mare by Jules Watson
(Dalriada, Book 1)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Vividly atmospheric, thrillingly alive with Celtic ritual and magic, The White Mare is the acclaimed first novel in Jules Watson's epic Dalriada Trilogy.

Spanning three centuries, the series recreates Celtic Britain at the time of the Roman invasion: a land of visions and dreams, bloodshed and brutal death.

It is AD 79 and Agricola, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain, is turning his attentions to the last unconquered territory in Britain--Alba, Scotland. Rhiann is a courageous and beautiful Scottish priestess scarred by her violent past. Of noble blood, she faces a forced marriage to protect the freedom of her people. Eremon is an enigmatic Irish prince, an exile, who must seek an alliance elsewhere to regain his throne. Will he prove himself the man who can unite the squabbling Celtic tribes against the more ominous threat of Rome? With war looming for her people, Rhiann finds herself drawn into an unexpected journey of the spirit and heart, which will reveal the true purpose of her life. For fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley and Diana Galbadon, The White Mare immerses the reader in its atmospheric world of magic and mysticism, love and treachery, from first page to last.
 

About Jules Watson

See more books from this Author
Jules Watson was born in Western Australia to English parents. After gaining degrees in archaeology and public relations, she worked as a freelance writer in both Australia and England. Jules and her Scottish husband divided their time between the U.K. and Australia before finally settling in the wild Highlands of Scotland. She is the author of the Dalriada trilogy-The White Mare, The Dawn Stag, and The Song of the North-a series of historical epics set in ancient Scotland about the wars between the Celts and the invading Romans. Kirkus Reviews named The White Mare among the top ten science fiction/fantasy releases of 2005, and The Song of the North was featured as a "Hot Read" in the Kirkus special science fiction/fantasy edition of 2008.
 
Published February 17, 2005 by Overlook Books. 474 pages
Genres: History, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The White Mare

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

She’s done her homework, boning up on Tacitus for historical detail and verisimilitude, but there’s imagination here, too, and the work’s all the better for it.

| Read Full Review of The White Mare (Dalriada, Boo...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The sudden arrival during the king's funeral of Eremon, an exiled Irish prince of Dalriada who yearns to reclaim his throne, is taken as a good omen, and the Epidii offer Rhiann as a bride in exchange for help in defeating the encroaching Romans.

Feb 07 2005 | Read Full Review of The White Mare (Dalriada, Boo...

Reader Rating for The White Mare
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 37 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×