The White Mountains by John Christopher
35th Anniversary Edition

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Monstrous machines rule the Earth, but a few humans are fighting for freedom in this repackaged start to a classic alien trilogy ideal for fans of Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave.

Will Parker never dreamed he would be the one to rebel against the Tripods. With the approach of his thirteenth birthday, he expected to attend his Capping ceremony as planned and to become connected to the Tripods—huge three-legged machines—that now control all of Earth. But after an encounter with a strange homeless man called Beanpole, Will sets out for the White Mountains, where people are said to be free from the control of the Tripods.

But even with the help of Beanpole and his friends, the journey is long and hard. And with the Tripods hunting for anyone who tries to break free, Will must reach the White Mountains fast. But the longer he’s away from his home, the more the Tripods look for him…and no one can hide from the monstrous machines forever.
 

About John Christopher

See more books from this Author
Christopher Samuel Youd was born on April 16, 1922, in Knowsley, Lancashire, England. He entered the Royal Signals corps during World War II. He published a dozen novels while working at an office job in London, writing in the evenings and on weekends. The success of a 1956 novel, The Death of Grass (titled No Blade of Grass in the United States), allowed him to become a full-time author. He wrote under the following pen names: Stanley Winchester, Hilary Ford, William Godfrey, William Vine, Peter Graaf, Peter Nichols and Anthony Rye. Under the pen name John Christopher, he wrote the Tripods trilogy, The Sword of the Spirits trilogy, and The Fireball trilogy. He died from complications of bladder cancer on February 3, 2012 at the age of 89.
 
Published November 9, 2010 by Aladdin. 228 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The White Mountains

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

"Once a year the clockman came from Winchester, on an old jogging pack horse, to clean and oil (the clock) and put it right. Afterward he would drink camomile tea with my mother and tell her the news of the city and what he had heard in the villages through which he had passed."

Apr 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The White Mountains : 35th An...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Now in 35th-anniversary editions, John Christopher's Tripod trilogy, about a race of three-legged machines who rule the planet, appears with a new introduction from the author and revised texts.

| Read Full Review of The White Mountains : 35th An...

Common Sense Media

The growing realization of the young hero, Will Parker, that he cannot help but reject his docile society, will resonate with passionate young readers who question their own world and their place in it.

| Read Full Review of The White Mountains : 35th An...

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

The growing realization of the young hero, Will Parker, that he cannot help but reject his docile society, will resonate with passionate young readers who question their own world and their place in it.

May 17 2016 | Read Full Review of The White Mountains : 35th An...

Reader Rating for The White Mountains
86%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 329 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×