The Whole Town's Talking by Fannie Flagg
A Novel

69%

7 Critic Reviews

You know the expression “This is not your grandma’s epic novel”? Well, this is your grandma’s epic novel, anodyne but sweeping in its sweet way, full of home truths and consolation.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The bestselling author of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe is at her superb best in this fun-loving, moving novel about what it means to be truly alive.

Elmwood Springs, Missouri, is a small town like any other, but something strange is happening at the cemetery. Still Meadows, as it’s called, is anything but still. Original, profound, The Whole Town’s Talking, a novel in the tradition of Thornton Wilder’s Our Town and Flagg’s own Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven, tells the story of Lordor Nordstrom, his Swedish mail-order bride, Katrina, and their neighbors and descendants as they live, love, die, and carry on in mysterious and surprising ways.

Lordor Nordstrom created, in his wisdom, not only a lively town and a prosperous legacy for himself but also a beautiful final resting place for his family, friends, and neighbors yet to come. “Resting place” turns out to be a bit of a misnomer, however. Odd things begin to happen, and it starts the whole town talking.

With her wild imagination, great storytelling, and deep understanding of folly and the human heart, the beloved Fannie Flagg tells an unforgettable story of life, afterlife, and the remarkable goings-on of ordinary people. In The Whole Town’s Talking, she reminds us that community is vital, life is a gift, and love never dies.

Praise for The Whole Town’s Talking

“[A] witty multigenerational saga . . . [Fannie] Flagg’s down-home wisdom, her affable humor and her long view of life offer a pleasant respite in nerve-jangling times.”—People

The Whole Town’s Talking [is] Fannie Flagg at her best.”—Florida Times Union

“If there’s one thing Fannie Flagg can do better than anybody else, it’s tell a story, and she outdoes herself in The Whole Town’s Talking. . . . Another brilliant novel—equally on the level as her famous Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe.”—The Newport Plain Talk

“Told with warmth, humor and remarkable characters, this touching novel is a tribute to the indomitable spirit of love.”—The Columbus Dispatch

“Delightful.”—The Washington Post

“I could not put this book down and didn’t want the tale to end. Fannie Flagg does it again; a great read you won’t want to miss.”—The Missourian

“It’s a sweeping, cinematic approach. . . . Flagg’s gentle storytelling makes the novel an easy, comfortable read that will leave a reader thinking about life, love and loss”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

“[Fannie Flagg] creates a world familiar in its reality and its hopes, and she displays her storytelling skills, ones that are enhanced by her humanity, her optimism and her big heart. . . . The Whole Town’s Talking [is] a story of life’s peaks, valleys and ordinary days—and a ringing affirmation of love, community and life itself.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

The Whole Town’s Talking is warm and inviting. Flagg’s Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind, warm and engaging without flash or fuss.”—Miami Herald

“Flagg’s humor shines through as she chronicles their successes, disappointments, and even a mysterious murder or two.”—BookPage

“[A] charming tale.”—Booklist
 

About Fannie Flagg

See more books from this Author
FANNIE FLAGG is a bestselling author and has been an actress, TV producer, speaker, and performer. Her book Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café became a major bestseller, as well as a heart-winning major motion picture. Flagg's script for the film was nominated for an Academy Award and a Writers Guild of America Award, and won the highly regarded Scripters Award. Other bestselling novels include Welcome to the World, Baby Girl!; Standing in the Rainbow; A Redbird Christmas; Can't Wait to Get to Heaven; and I Still Dream About You. She lives in California and Alabama.













Author Residence: Montecito, CA, and Fairhope, AL













Author Hometown: Birmingham, AL
 
Published November 29, 2016 by Random House. 418 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, History. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon14
Peak Rank on Dec 18 2016
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Whole Town's Talking
All: 7 | Positive: 4 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Above average
on Oct 06 2016

You know the expression “This is not your grandma’s epic novel”? Well, this is your grandma’s epic novel, anodyne but sweeping in its sweet way, full of home truths and consolation.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Star Tribune

Above average
Reviewed by Erin Golden on Dec 02 2016

It’s a sweeping, cinematic approach that can feel almost disorienting by the end, as the names and years and relationships pile up. Flagg’s gentle storytelling makes the novel an easy, comfortable read that will leave a reader thinking about life, love and loss...

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N... | See more reviews from Star Tribune

Book Reporter

Good
Reviewed by Roz Shea on Dec 02 2016

Prepare to be delighted by fond memories, evocative of Thornton Wilder’s OUR TOWN. It is, quite simply, a satisfying read, a gift with a whimsical twist to America’s heritage.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N...

Newsday

Above average
Reviewed by Connie Ogle on Dec 23 2016

But overall, “The Whole Town’s Talking” is warm and inviting. Flagg’s Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind, warm and engaging without flash or fuss.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N...

Philly.com

Above average
Reviewed by Connie Ogle on Jan 06 2017

What drives The Whole Town's Talking isn't plot but nostalgia and Flagg's gentle wit. It's a pleasant, amusing bedtime story for grown-ups...But overall, The Whole Town's Talking is warm and inviting. Flagg's Elmwood Springs novels are comfort reads of the best kind: warm and engaging without flash or fuss.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N...

https://www.rtbookreviews.com

Above average
Reviewed by Melissa Parcel on Nov 01 2016

It feels as if the book was more "this happened, and then this happened" telling the story rather than showing it. There is still a large amount of Flagg's quirky charm and humor, making it a worthwhile read for those who enjoy a lighthearted story.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N...

https://historicalnovelsociety.org

Above average
Reviewed by Jo Ann Butler on Feb 18 2017

Fannie Flagg’s name on a novel’s cover serves as a notice: prepare yourself for a satisfying visit with a cast of complex, yet down-to-earth people. The Whole Town’s Talking is no exception. I thoroughly enjoyed the story from the start, but it took a while for Ms. Flagg’s wide-ranging tale to reveal that it has an ultimate destination.

Read Full Review of The Whole Town's Talking: A N...

Reader Rating for The Whole Town's Talking
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 932 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×