The Widow by Fiona Barton

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

A loving husband or a heartless killer...she'd know, wouldn't she?

There's a lot Jean hasn't said over the years about the crime her husband was suspected of committing. She was busy being the perfect wife, standing by her man while living with accusing glares and anonymous harassment. Now her husband is dead, and there's no reason to stay quiet. People want to hear her story. They want to know what it was like living with that man. She can tell them there were secrets. There always are in a marriage.
     The truth--that's all anyone wants. But the one lesson Jean has learned in the last few years is that she can make people believe anything. For the reporter who has secured the exclusive interview, this is the scoop of a lifetime. For the detective who has lived a half-life since he failed to get justice for the victim, it is a chance to get at the truth that has eluded him for so long. For Jean, it's a chance to defend herself, what she knew--and when.
     This is the tale of a missing child, narrated by the wife of the main suspect, the detective leading the hunt, and the journalist covering the case. It's a brilliantly ominous, psychologically acute portrait of a marriage in crisis--perfect for fans of The Silent Wife and The Girl on the Train.
 

About Fiona Barton

See more books from this Author
FIONA BARTON is an international media trainer working in developing countries, having formerly been a senior writer at the Daily Mail, news editor at the Daily Telegraph, and chief reporter at The Mail on Sunday, where she was named Reporter of the Year at the National Press Awards. It was this experience covering notorious crimes and trials that inspired her to write The Widow, her first novel. The author lives in France.
 
Published February 16, 2016 by Penguin Canada. 336 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime.

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Widow

Tulsa World

Tags: .

Mar 07 2016 | Read Full Review of The Widow

Star-Telegram

Barton has a great group with Glen’s wife, Bella’s mom, the lead detective on the case and the dogged reporter covering the story.

Feb 22 2016 | Read Full Review of The Widow

Newstalk 1010

Please login below to complete the Facebook login process.

Mar 07 2016 | Read Full Review of The Widow

Reader Rating for The Widow
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 17 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review