The Woman in the Window by A. J. Finn
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

How well does it all hold up, once Finn’s cards have been fully played? Pretty well, but there are problems...For hard-core aficionados of classic logical mysteries, this book includes some special delights.
-NY Times

Synopsis

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

 

About A. J. Finn

See more books from this Author
 
Published January 2, 2018 by William Morrow. 449 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Crime, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon3
Rank this week
icon1
Peak Rank on Jan 28 2018
icon5
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Woman in the Window
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

NY Times

Above average
Reviewed by Janet Maslin on Jan 03 2018

How well does it all hold up, once Finn’s cards have been fully played? Pretty well, but there are problems...For hard-core aficionados of classic logical mysteries, this book includes some special delights.

Read Full Review of The Woman in the Window: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Times

Toronto Star

Above average
Reviewed by Tara Henley on Jan 12 2018

...feels a bit detached from its main character and the society in which her story unfolds. The writing here, though, is quite good, and as riveting as one might hope.

Read Full Review of The Woman in the Window: A Novel | See more reviews from Toronto Star

Globe and Mail

Good
Reviewed by Margaret Cannon on Jan 05 2018

This is one of the most realistic descriptions of the daily life of a depressed person that I've ever read, and as a character study it's great. And, yes, that epigraph is real and tells us all we really need to know about the book and the real plot line under the murder-mystery gilding.

Read Full Review of The Woman in the Window: A Novel | See more reviews from Globe and Mail

Reader Rating for The Woman in the Window
86%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1894 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×