The Works of Mary E. Wilkins Freeman by Mary E. Wilkins Freeman
(50 works)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


The Adventures of Ann, Stories of Colonial Times
An Alabaster Box
The Butterfly House
By the Light of the Soul
Comfort Pease and her Gold Ring
The Copy-Cat & Other Stories
The Debtor, A Novel
"Doc." Gordon
Evelina's Garden
Giles Corey, Yeoman
The Green Door
The Heart's Highway
The Jamesons
Jane Field, A Novel
Jerome, A Poor Man
Madelon, A Novel
Pembroke, A Novel
The Portion of Labor
The Pot of Gold, And Other Stories
The Shoulders of Atlas
Stories Of The Supernatural
Young Lucretia and Other Stories

About Mary E. Wilkins Freeman

See more books from this Author
Author Mary E. Wilkins Freeman was born in Randolph, Massachusetts on October 31, 1852. She attended Mount Holyoke College for one year and later finished her education at West Brattleboro Seminary. As a teenager, she began writing stories and verse for children in order to help support her family. She continued to write short stories, novels, poetry, and children's works throughout her life. Her best known works are A Humble Romance and Other Stories, A New England Nun and Other Stories, and Pembroke. Her characters were usually older women who confronted and asserted their independence in the changing social structure of rural New England. In April 1926, the American Academy of Arts and Letters presented her with the first William Dean Howells Medal for Distinction in Fiction. She was also inducted into the National Institute of Arts and Letters. She died of a heart attack on March 13, 1930 in Metuchen, New Jersey.
Published October 20, 2009 3973 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review