The World We Found by Thrity Umrigar
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 10 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar’s The World We Found—a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls “perceptive and often piercing.”
 

About Thrity Umrigar

See more books from this Author
THRITY UMRIGAR was born in Bombay to an affluent and close-knit Parsi family. At twenty-one, she came to North America and received a master’s degree in journalism from the Ohio State University. She is the acclaimed author of Bombay Time, The Weight of Heaven, and First Darling of the Morning, a memoir. The Space Between Us was a bestseller in India and a #1 Book Sense pick in the U.S. Umrigar teaches creative writing at Case Western Reserve University in Ohio. Visit her website at www.umrigar.com.
 
Published January 3, 2012 by Harper. 403 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The World We Found

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A crisis reconnects four young firebrands from college who have grown apart as adults, in a story dense with sensitive scrutiny.

Dec 20 2011 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Armaiti’s ruminations on unexpectedly encountering the end of one’s life and Kavita’s struggle to live openly as a lesbian despite supportive friends act as strong secondary narratives.

Oct 03 2011 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Examiner

Kavita knows it is time to let her friends into the world she shares with her partner, Ingrid.

Jan 28 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Star Tribune

See more reviews from this publication

Four college friends recollect their shared past and diverging experiences as one faces terminal illness.

Jan 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Book Reporter

For Armaiti, Laleh, Kavita and Nishta, college life in 1970s India was about daring and changing their homeland.

Jan 26 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Tampa Bay Times

In her previous highly successful novel, The Space Between Us, Thrity Umrigar examined how two women of different backgrounds in India were capable of carrying on in the face of despair.

Mar 10 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

The Columbus Dispatch

Armaiti looks at her much-loved daughter, a student at Harvard, and thinks that she is “truly the child of the American Midwest — sweet but bland — with not a trace of her mother’s heritage of spice and vinegar.” Adish loves his wife, but he is often “impatient with Laleh’s theatrics, the consta...

Jan 08 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

BookRack

The book works on various levels – friendship, love (friends and their lives with their spouses or not), the years they spent together and apart, the Bombay riots of 1992, and amidst all of this, the friends’ individualities – Laleh, the equal in her relationship, a rebel of sorts, Kavita – the s...

Jan 05 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

IBN Live

The book works on various levels - friendship, love (friends and their lives with their spouses or not), the years they spent together and apart, the Bombay riots of 1992, and amidst all of this, the friends’ individualities - Laleh, the equal in her relationship, a rebel of sorts, Kavita - the s...

Jan 05 2012 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Forty years after they were university students together in

Apr 01 2013 | Read Full Review of The World We Found: A Novel

Reader Rating for The World We Found
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 233 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×