These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

I would highly recommend this book for readers aged 13 and up, especially those who have enjoyed Donnelly’s previous books. It’s an original, gripping mystery with a heroine you are unlikely to forget.
-Guardian

Synopsis

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
    Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon—like all the girls in her class—she’ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer—a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
    Wild aspirations aside, Jo’s life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City’s wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
    The more Jo hears about her father’s death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo’s father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie—a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father’s newspaper—and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
    The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

Praise for These Shallow Graves:

"These Shallow Graves delivered all that I adore: lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book!"-Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy

"An intelligent, personable heroine-Jo Montfort's hopes for an enlightened future uncover a dark past, resulting in a splendidly hair-raising tour of the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York."-Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity and Black Dove, White Raven

"A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller that plunges its intrepid investigative-journalist heroine into the sordid underworld of nineteenth-century New York City and into her own family's dark secrets."-Julie Berry, award-winning author of All the Truth That's In Me

"Jo Montfort is a gutsy modern heroine in a beguiling tale of old New York. Money, murder, betrayal, and family secrets....I loved spending time in this world!"-Elizabeth Ross, author of William C. Morris Award finalist Belle Epoque

[STAR] "Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another."-Booklist, Starred

[STAR] "Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant."-Publishers Weekly, Starred

[STAR] "A riveting historical mystery-thriller...[that] succeeds as a wonderfully paced thriller, a heart-pounding romance and an unflinching look at the hard choices one young woman must make when society disparages her dreams."-Shelf Awareness, Starred

"A beautifully written mystery."-School Library Journal

"[A] fast-paced thriller...the story races to its surprising conclusion."-Kirkus Reviews

"A heroine you can't help cheering on."-The Horn Book


From the Hardcover edition.
 

About Jennifer Donnelly

See more books from this Author
Jennifer Donnelly is the author of two adult novels, The Tea Rose and The Winter Rose, as well as the young adult novel A Northern Light, winner of Britain's prestigious Carnegie Medal, the L.A. Times Book Prize for Young Adult Literature, and a Michael L. Printz Honor Award. She lives and writes full-time in upstate New York. You can visit her at www.jenniferdonnelly.com.
 
Published October 27, 2015 by Delacorte Press. 498 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance, History. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for These Shallow Graves
All: 3 | Positive: 3 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jul 15 2015

The author keeps the clues coming at a rate that allows readers to be one small step ahead of Jo as the story races to its surprising conclusion. Readers who love costume dramas will relish this one.

Read Full Review of These Shallow Graves | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Aug 14 2015

Though some of the constraints placed on female behavior during that time period have faded, the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant.

Read Full Review of These Shallow Graves | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Valentine on Dec 06 2015

I would highly recommend this book for readers aged 13 and up, especially those who have enjoyed Donnelly’s previous books. It’s an original, gripping mystery with a heroine you are unlikely to forget.

Read Full Review of These Shallow Graves | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for These Shallow Graves
80%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 89 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×