Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 7 Critic Reviews



The enchanting international bestseller with bonus back matter and a beautiful new cover!

Two orphaned brothers, Prosper and Bo, have run away to Venice, where crumbling canals and misty alleyways shelter a secret community of street urchins. Leader of this motley crew of lost children is a clever, charming boy with a dark history of his own: He calls himself the Thief Lord.

Propser and Bo relish their new "family" and life of petty crime. But their cruel aunt and a bumbling detective are on their trail. And posing an even greater threat to the boys' freedom is something from a forgotten past: a beautiful magical treasure with the power to spin time itself.

About Cornelia Funke

See more books from this Author
Cornelia Funke is the internationally acclaimed, bestselling author of The Thief Lord, Dragon Rider, and the Inkheart trilogy, along with many other chapter and picture books for younger readers. She lives in Los Angeles, California, in a house filled with books.
Published October 1, 2011 by Scholastic Inc.. 362 pages
Genres: Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Education & Reference, History. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Thief Lord

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

This wing, which belongs to the unconventional, kindhearted photographer Ida Spavento, is no ordinary piece of wood, but rather the missing piece to a hidden, magical merry-go-round rumored to turn children into adults and adults into children.

| Read Full Review of Thief Lord

The Guardian

See more reviews from this publication

It is the aborted robbery that brings Scipio, the child who would be a man, face to face with adults seeking to recover their lost childhood, and ultimately delivers an ambiguous retribution to Barbarossa and the heartless aunt.

Jun 21 2002 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Wacky characters bring energy to this translation of an entertaining German novel about thieving children, a disguise-obsessed detective and a magical merry-go-round. After their mother dies, 12-ye

Jun 24 2002 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord


For an exciting middle grade read, check out The Thief Lord locally through the Gail Borden, Bartlett, Poplar Creek, Schaumburg, or Batavia libraries, or click on links below to read reviews of other exciting books for middle grade readers.

Dec 26 2011 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord


(The Chicken House, $16.95) Bottom Line: Fine way to pass the time waiting for the next Harry Potter Contributors: Annette Gallagher Weisman, Jennifer Wulff, Tom Gliatto, Cynthia Sanz, J.D.

Oct 07 2002 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord


Fans of Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl will love this fast-paced look into a beautiful, mysterious world.Reviewed by Carlie Kraft on September 1, 2002 The Thief Lordby Cornelia Funke View all » |

Sep 01 2002 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord


rather, I read the book without a care of when something magical was going to happen, taken along by the hands and words of these characters, only wanting to know what happens to them and how it happens.

Aug 10 2006 | Read Full Review of Thief Lord

Reader Rating for Thief Lord

An aggregated and normalized score based on 472 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review