Thieving Weasels by Billy Taylor

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

Skip O'Rourke is dragged into one last con . . . but he doesn't know the con's on him in this funny, page-turning debut YA for fans of Winger and Ocean’s Eleven.

Cameron Smith attends an elite boarding school and has just been accepted to Princeton University alongside his beautiful girlfriend, Claire. Life for Cameron would be perfect, except that Cameron Smith is actually Skip O'Rourke, and Skip O'Rourke ran away from his grifter family four years ago...along with $100,000 of their “earnings” (because starting a new life is not cheap). But when his uncle Wonderful tracks him down, Skip's given an ultimatum: come back to the family for one last con, or say good-bye to life as Cameron.

"One last con" is easier said than done when Skip's family is just as merciless (and just as manipulative) as they've always been, and everyone around him is lying. Skip may have given up on crime, but there's one lesson he hasn't forgotten: always know your mark. And if you don't know who your mark is . . . it's probably you.

Witty and irresistibly readable, this standout debut will always keep you guessing.
 

About Billy Taylor

See more books from this Author
Dr. Billy Taylor (1921-2010) served as the Duke Ellington Fellow at Yale University, Artistic Advisor for Jazz to the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, and Board Member on the National Council for the Arts. A lifelong spokesperson for jazz, he hosted radio shows in New York, on National Public Radio, and became the jazz correspondent on CBS Sunday Morning. With over 23 honorary doctoral degrees, Dr. Billy Taylor is also the recipient of two Peabody Awards, an Emmy, a Grammy and a host of prestigious and highly coveted prizes, such as the National Medal of Arts, the Tiffany Award, a Lifetime Achievement Award from Downbeat Magazine, and election to the Hall of Fame for the International Association for Jazz Education.Teresa L. Reed is Director of the School of Music at the University of Tulsa where she teaches music theory and African-American music.
 
Published August 23, 2016 by Dial Books. 256 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Thieving Weasels

Gr 8 Up—"Always know your mark. And if you don't know who your mark is…it's probably YOU." Raised by crooks, Skip O'Rourke engineered an escape from the family and conned his way into prestigious Wheaton Academy. He's just been accepted to Princeton when the family tracks him down and makes an un...

Jun 01 2016 | Read Full Review of Thieving Weasels
×