Third Book of Enoch by A. Nyland
(3 Enoch, Merkabah Hebrew Book of Enoch)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


3 Enoch is also known as The Hebrew Book of Enoch, as the evidence suggests it was originally written in Hebrew. 3 Enoch is also known as Sefer Hekhalot, meaning Book of Palaces. In 3 Enoch, Enoch ascends to heaven and is transformed into the angel Metatron. The Talmud does not state this, but the tradition is found in the earliest Kabbalists. Jewish mysticism traces to the Merkabah practices of the 1st c. CE. The goal of Merkabah Mysticism was to enter a trance-like state by means of fasting, meditation, prayer and incantation, and thus ascend to God's heavenly throne room and experience God's Throne-Chariot (Hebrew: "Merkabah"). This is a NEW translation by ancient languages scholar Dr A. Nyland.

About A. Nyland

See more books from this Author
Dr. A. Nyland is an ancient language scholar and lexicographer who served as Faculty at the University of New England, Australia. Dr. Nyland is also the translator of "The Book of Jubilees," and "The Gospel of Thomas," among others. Ann Nyland is the author of the Amy Stuart Mystery series.
Published October 7, 2010 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 120 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review