This Beautiful Life by Helen Schulman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Both tone and technique are impressively extended in This Beautiful Life.


"This Beautiful Life is a gripping, potent and blisteringly well-written story of family, dilemma, and consequence. . . . I read this book with white-knuckled urgency, and I finished it in tears. Helen Schulman is an absolutely brilliant novelist." —Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

The events of a single night shatter one family’s sense of security and identity in this provocative and deeply affecting domestic drama from Helen Schulman, the acclaimed author of A Day at the Beach and Out of Time. In the tradition of Lionel Shriver, Sue Miller, and Laura Moriarty, Schulman crafts a brilliantly observed portrait of parenting and modern life, cunningly exploring our most deeply-held convictions and revealing the enduring strengths that emerge in the face of crisis.


About Helen Schulman

See more books from this Author
Helen Schulman is the author of the novels A Day at the Beach, P.S., The Revisionist, and Out of Time, and the short story collection Not a Free Show. Her fiction and nonfiction have appeared in Vanity Fair, Time, Vogue, GQ, the Paris Review, and the New York Times Book Review. An associate professor of writing at The New School, she lives in New York City with her husband and two children.
Published August 2, 2011 by Harper. 245 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Humor & Entertainment. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for This Beautiful Life
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0


Reviewed by Mark Lawson on Feb 10 2012

Both tone and technique are impressively extended in This Beautiful Life.

Read Full Review of This Beautiful Life | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for This Beautiful Life

An aggregated and normalized score based on 401 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review