Three Lives by Gertrude Stein
Stories of the Good Anna, Melanctha, and the Gentle Lena

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


2012 Reprint of 1909 Edition. "Three Lives" (1909) was Gertrude Stein's first published work. The book is divided into three stories, "The Good Anna," "Melanctha," and "The Gentle Lena." The three stories are independent of each other, but all are set in the fictional town of Bridgepoint. Each one is a psychological portrait of the named protagonist. All three are members of the lower socioeconomic stratum of Bridgepoint. Stein had dropped out of Johns Hopkins Medical School before graduating, but not before completing her third year of training. She was particularly interested in psychology and had been a student of William James when she was an undergraduate. These three stories are detailed psychological characterizations of the three characters.

About Gertrude Stein

See more books from this Author
Famous writer Gertrude Stein was born on February 3, 1874 in Allegheny, PA and was educated at Radcliffe College and Johns Hopkins medical school. Stein wrote Three Lives, The Making of Americans, and Tender Buttons, all of which were considered difficult for the average reader. She is most famous for her opera Four Saints in Three Acts and The Autobiography of Alice B. Toklas, which was actually an autobiography of Stein herself. With her companion Alice B. Toklas, Stein received the French government's Medaille de la Reconnaissance Francaise for theory work with the American fund for French Wounded in World War I. Gertrude Stein died in Neuilly-ser-Seine, France on July 27, 1946.
Published June 6, 2007 by BiblioBazaar. 206 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, History, Biographies & Memoirs, Horror. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review