Three Poets of the First World War by Ivor Gurney

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


An essential new collection of poetry from the First World War.

This indispensable anthology brings together the works of three major poets from the First World War. Ivor Gurney (1890-1937) was a classical music composer and poet who published two volumes of poems, Severn and Somme and War's Embers. Wilfred Owen's (1893- 1918) realistic poetry is remarkable for its details of war and combat. Isaac Rosenberg's (1890-1918) Poems from the Trenches is widely considered one of the finest examples of war poetry from the period. Carefully selected by Jon Stallworthy, a professor emeritus of English at the University of Oxford, these poems comprise a landmark publication that reflects the disparate experiences of war through the voices of the soldiers themselves.


About Ivor Gurney

See more books from this Author
JON STALLWORTHY is a poet and literary critic who has published widely on twentieth-century literature and war poetry.
Published March 27, 2012 by Penguin Classics. 208 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction