Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The many twists, though, do also make the book is a bit longer than the story demands. Overwritten and over-explained in places, it takes a while to get going, and there is a lot of complication required to resolve all the loose ends.
-Guardian

Synopsis

For readers who loved Wonder and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time this extraordinary debut will make you laugh and cry.

A story that crosses time and generations, for adventure-loving readers young and old.

“My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve.”

On Al Chaudhury’s twelfth birthday his beloved Grandpa Byron gives him a letter from Al’s late father. In it Al receives a mission: travel back to 1984 in a secret time machine and save his father’s life.

Al soon discovers that time travel requires daring and imagination. It also requires lies, theft, setting his school on fire and ignoring philosophical advice from Grandpa Byron. All without losing his pet hamster, Alan Shearer…

Time Travelling With a Hamster is a funny, heart-warming race-against-time – and across generations – adventure that you will won’t be able to put down.

 

About Ross Welford

See more books from this Author
Ross Welford was a journalist and television producer before becoming a full-time writer. He lives in London with his wife, children, a border collie and several tropical fish. This is his first novel.
 
Published December 31, 2015 by HarperCollinsChildren'sBooks. 400 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Young Adult, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Time Travelling with a Hamster
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Guardian

Below average
Reviewed by Piers Torday on Feb 06 2016

The many twists, though, do also make the book is a bit longer than the story demands. Overwritten and over-explained in places, it takes a while to get going, and there is a lot of complication required to resolve all the loose ends.

Read Full Review of Time Travelling with a Hamster | See more reviews from Guardian

Rate this book!

Add Review
×