To Burgundy and Back Again by Roy Cloud
A Tale of Wine, France, and Brotherhood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Roy Cloud had worked in the wine business for years, watching it transform from a retail backwater to a mainstream fixation, with a huge influx of consumers looking for wine with terroir. By a twist of fate, he found himself on a hurriedly arranged trip to France to persuade small-scale winemakers that he should represent their interests in the growing U.S. import market. While Roy’s palate would be challenged in finding the hidden gems of the Loire and Burgundy, his real dilemma was this: He didn’t speak a word of French.

 

Enter Joe, Roy’s older brother. Different from Roy in every respect, Joe had studied in France and was fluent in the language—and, most importantly, he was free to join Roy in his search. It was simple: Roy would do the tasting, and Joe would do the talking. What could go wrong?

 

In To Burgundy and Back Again, Roy presents a richly evocative account of their journey—one replete with discovery, adventure, and poignant surprises. Written in the tradition of A Year in Provence and Sideways, this elegantly penned book will delight wine lovers and armchair travelers alike.

 

 

 

About Roy Cloud

See more books from this Author
Roy Cloud runs Vintage ’59, a boutique importer based in Washington, DC, specializing in French wines. Roy earned a degree in writing from New York University. He’s worked as a carpenter in California, and, once upon a time, he caught salmon in Alaska. This is his first book.
 
Published June 1, 2011 by Lyons Press. 227 pages
Genres: Travel, Cooking. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for To Burgundy and Back Again

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

What ensues is both heartfelt and passionate—“Wine is always life.” Readers join the adventure in the brothers' shiny new Renault, barreling across the ancient French countryside that reveals “a rural way of life that had seemingly changed little since the days of Joan of Arc.” With haunting clar...

May 01 2011 | Read Full Review of To Burgundy and Back Again: A...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Roy Cloud runs Vintage ’59, a boutique importer specializing in French wines based in Washington, D.C.

Jun 02 2011 | Read Full Review of To Burgundy and Back Again: A...

Reader Rating for To Burgundy and Back Again
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 14 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×