Tom Raworth Collected Poems by Tom Raworth
(Poetry Pleiade)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


The first collection of Tom Raworth's poetry available in one volume, this work will change the way British poetry, in particular the modernist tradition, is seen. Part tragedy, part comedy, these poems reflect Raworth's view of life's fated inevitabilities. His sense of modern urgency plays against a similar sense of readiness in the spirit of Shelley and Byron. His eager verse will both challenge and fascinate those who wish to understand the value of British poetry.

About Tom Raworth

See more books from this Author
Tom Raworth was born and grew up in London. During the 1970s he travelled and worked in the USA and Mexico, returning to England in 1977 to be Resident Poet at King's College, Cambridge, in which city he still lives. Since 1966 he has published more than forty books and pamphlets of poetry, prose and translations, in several countries. His graphic work has been shown in France, Italy, and the USA, and he has collaborated and performed with musicians (Steve Lacy, Jo0/00lle L,andre, Steve Nelson-Raney, Esther Roth, Nino Locatelli), painters (Giovanni D'Agostino, Mica0/00la Henich), and other poets (Franco Beltrametti, Corrado Costa, Dario Villa). He was editor of three literary/art magazines: outburst (1961-63); Before Your Very Eyes! (1964); and Infolio (1986-87). During the 1960s he also ran two small presses - Matrix and Goliard. Since the early 1970s he has read his work in more than 20 countries, including at many International Literary Festivals, and has been invited to teach, or to be a visiting writer, in France, Italy, the USA, and the Republic of South Africa. Tom Raworth's Collected Poems were published in 2003. His latest collection is Caller and Other Pieces (2007).
Published April 1, 2003 by Carcanet Press Ltd.. 650 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review