Too Beautiful for Words by Monique W. Morris

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

He walked up all close to me, and I remember he smelled so sweet -- like love without sex. From his soft, clean, honey-colored face to the milky white of his teeth, this man caught ahold of my heart and yanked it straight through my body. It was a wonderful feelin' -- natural and dark. And it only got sweeter when he told me that I could come to one of his parties and see his "family" for myself . . . I hadn't ever thought 'bout bein' a ho before, but I did want to do whatever could keep me close to that man standin' in front of me.

In the tradition of Sister Souljah, Sapphire, and Paul Beatty comes a stunning new voice in fiction, Monique W. Morris, and her novel, Too Beautiful for Words.

Peaches was a good high school girl until she met Jesus, the pimp who turned her out. They had a child named Jason, who was raised in a group home. Now a young man with a son of his own, Jason meets Chinaka, a former Black Panther who had befriended Peaches. Just as she tried to rescue his mother, Chinaka sets her sights on Jason, who is looking to get into the family business.

In stark, moving prose, Monique W. Morris brings us into the lives of Peaches, Jesus, Jason, and Chinaka, whose words capture with exquisite honesty the brutality and humanity of the streets. They will resound in your mind long after you've closed the book.

 

About Monique W. Morris

See more books from this Author
Morris is a senior research associate with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency. For several years, she has led national efforts to address racial disparities in the criminal and juvenile justice systems. She holds an M.S. and a B.A. from Columbia University. A writer, an accomplished artist, and a public speaker.
 
Published September 1, 2001 by Amistad. 288 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Too Beautiful for Words

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Sexually adventurous and eager for attention, 17-year-old Angie is easy pickings for the sharp-dressed man who comes strolling by her porch one day: “From his soft, clean, honey-colored face to the milky white of his teeth, this man caught ahold of my heart and yanked it straight through my body....

| Read Full Review of Too Beautiful for Words

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

In this earnest, flawed tale of life on the streets, Morris, a senior research associate with the National Council on Crime and Delinquency, uses the familiar coming-of-age format to tell the story of Peaches, a high school girl led astray by a wily pimp, Jesus, who first seduces her with visions...

| Read Full Review of Too Beautiful for Words

Reader Rating for Too Beautiful for Words
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 21 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review