Toxic Charity by Robert D. Lupton
How the Church Hurts Those They Help and How to Reverse It

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.
 

About Robert D. Lupton

See more books from this Author
Robert D. Lupton is founder and president of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies), through which he has developed two mixed-income subdivisions, organized a multiracial congregation, started a number of businesses, created housing for hundreds of families, and initiated a wide range of human services in his community. Lupton is the author of Theirs Is the Kingdom; Return Flight; Renewing the City; Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life; and the widely circulated “Urban Perspectives,” monthly reflections on the Gospel and the poor.
 
Published October 11, 2011 by HarperOne. 213 pages
Genres: Political & Social Sciences, Religion & Spirituality. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for Toxic Charity
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 358 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×