Trough of Hell by H. R. D'Costa
How to Wrap Up the Middle of Your Story with Maximum Impact (Story Structure Essentials)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

Synopsis

Conquer Act Two. Complete Your Story in Less Time—and with Less Frustration.
If you’re like me, you know how your screenplay or novel* is going to start and end. Maybe not the exact image or line, but you’ve got a rough idea of what you’re going to write. So you begin writing your story with lots of enthusiasm...until you reach the middle, aka Act Two.

That’s where you get stuck. Suddenly, all of your enthusiasm evaporates. Blank pages are scary in general. Blank pages from Act Two, those are downright terrifying. But if you figure out which events end Act Two—often referred to as the “all is lost” moment—everything else will fall into place. If you do that, you’ll be writing screenplay or novel pages quickly. They’ll be good pages too. Pages which engage, excite, and enthrall.

So, How Do You Write a Screenplay or Novel with a Perfect “All Is Lost” Moment?
It’s simple: craft a sequence which is filled with pain, emotion, and paradox...what I like to call the hero’s “trough of hell.” Combined, these three elements re-engage audiences, right when their interest is about to flag. That’s why it’s so important to use your writing skills to get this story structure essential right.

With This Screenwriting Guide, You’ll Learn:how to use 4 different pain types to inflict maximum damage to your hero (and why you should)3 methods to make the trough of hell more emotionally intense—without altering a single beat of the “all is lost” momenthow a hero seems to be the furthest away from his goal, when you and I both know he’s about to accomplish it in 15 pages (give or take)7 common ways to end Act Two and how to overcome the unique challenges each presentshow to enchant audiences by combining multiple trough typesthe trick Peter Jackson used to increase the emotional weight of THE TWO TOWERSwhy the most effective way to hurt your hero—even in an action movie—doesn’t involve blood, burns, or bruises5 different forms of betrayal you can use to split your protagonists aparthow to use setups and payoffs to extricate your hero from dicey situations (like capture and death)the secret sauce to turning allies into foes (think Dr Nichols in THE FUGITIVE)what stuck out the most to Johnny Depp when filming THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL...and why it matters to you, when writing screenplaysthe STAR WARS secret which will help you achieve galactic screenwriting dominionhow to pace your story like a prohow to handle story structure problems specific to thrillers, action movies, comedies, and romantic comediesPlus...8 detailed case studies which should help you put together the writing secrets you'll learn from this book. All blockbuster films, the case studies include BRIDESMAIDS, THE FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING, ABOUT A BOY, OCEAN’S 11, and BRAVEHEART.

Never Get Stuck in the Middle of Your Story Ever Again
Conquer Act Two...for good. Write your screenplay or novel with more ease, more speed, and more confidence. Scroll up and buy Trough of Hell today!

* While all the examples come from movies, this writing skills guide can help authors who are struggling with the middle section of their novels.

Other titles in the Story Structure Essentials series:

Inciting Incident: How to Begin Your Story and Engage Audiences Right Away
smarturl.it/inciting-incident

Story Climax: How to Avoid Disappointed Audiences and Craft a Screenplay or Novel Climax that Thrills and Delights
smarturl.it/story-climax

If you're serious about writing screenplays and novels that audiences will love, take a look at:
Story Stakes: Your #1 Writing Skills Strategy to Produce a Page-Turner that Transforms Readers into Raving Fans of Your Screenplay or Novel
 

About H. R. D'Costa

See more books from this Author
 
Published January 20, 2014 256 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography.