True Love by Jude Deveraux
(Nantucket Brides Trilogy)


12 Critic Reviews

By the end, several star-crossed couples find each other again in new lives. A romantic story of love so deep it survives centuries.


Jude Deveraux, the bestselling author of unforgettable romance, returns with a breathtaking first book in a fantastic new series—the Nantucket Brides trilogy. Set on the magical Massachusetts island, True Love introduces characters from a new generation of Montgomery-Taggerts, the beloved family from Deveraux’s classic novels.
Just as Alix Madsen is finishing up architectural school, Adelaide Kingsley dies and wills her, for one year, the use of a charming nineteenth-century Nantucket house. The elderly woman’s relationship to the Madsen family is a mystery to the spirited Alix—fresh from a romantic breakup—but for reasons of her own Alix accepts the quirky bequest, in part because it gives her time to plan her best friend’s storybook wedding.
But unseen forces move behind the scenes, creaking Kingsley House’s ancient floorboards. It seems that Adelaide Kingsley had a rather specific task for Alix: to solve the strange disappearance of one of the Kingsley women, Valentina, more than two hundred years ago. If that wasn’t troubling enough, Alix must deal with the arrogant (and extremely good-looking) architect Jared Montgomery, who is living in the property’s guesthouse.
Unbeknown to Alix, Jared has been charged with looking after her while she lives on the island—an easy task for him, considering the undeniable chemistry between the two. But Jared harbors secrets of his own, which, if revealed, may drive a wedge between the pair.
With a glorious Nantucket wedding on the horizon, sparks fly, and the ghosts of the past begin to reveal themselves—some of them literally. Finding their lives inextricably entwined with the turbulent fortunes of their ancestors, Alix and Jared discover that only by righting the wrongs of the past can they hope to be together.

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Jude Deveraux's For All Time.
Praise for True Love
“Jude Deveraux’s Nantucket Brides series will sweep you away. A beautiful island, a sexy man, and plenty of secrets—this is a wonderful writer at her best.”—Susan Mallery, New York Times bestselling author of Three Sisters
“A new Jude Deveraux novel means a very late night turning the pages straight through to the delicious end.”—Susan Elizabeth Phillips, New York Times bestselling author of The Great Escape
True Love, with its star-crossed lovers and twisty plot, evokes everything that makes Nantucket so special—the history, the atmosphere, the secrets, and the magic.”—Susan Wiggs
“Destined to be an instant romance classic . . . [It] will haunt you long after you read it.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
“Deveraux is at her spellbinding romantic finest.”—Booklist

“A novel about star-crossed love, life, death and reincarnation . . . a romantic story of love so deep it survives centuries.”—Kirkus Reviews

About Jude Deveraux

See more books from this Author
Jude Deveraux is the author of more than forty New York Times bestsellers, including Moonlight in the Morning, The Scent of Jasmine, Scarlet Nights, Days of Gold, Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, and Secrets. To date, there are more than sixty million copies of her books in print worldwide. To learn more, visit
Published January 1, 2013 by RANDOM HOUSE. 530 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
Peak Rank on May 03 2015
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for True Love
All: 12 | Positive: 11 | Negative: 1


on Mar 31 2013

By the end, several star-crossed couples find each other again in new lives. A romantic story of love so deep it survives centuries.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

on May 06 2013

Deveraux...masterfully brings together two kindred spirits, giving readers lots of reasons to look forward to the next installments in the planned Nantucket Brides trilogy.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Guilty Pleasures

Reviewed by Kitty Angel on Jul 09 2013

I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. I smiled throughout it, even when Jared was being an ass and Victoria was being mean-spirited. But, I couldn’t wait to see how everything turned out in the end.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Smexy Books

Below average
Reviewed by Tori on Jul 12 2013

While I’m glad Ms. Deveraux is continuing her stories involving the Montgomery and Taggart family, I’m afraid I will be stopping here.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

The Good, The Bad and The Unread

Reviewed by Veena on Jul 18 2013

Her presence on the Island sets a lot of things that have been murky and hidden for centuries into motion, and suddenly the house and the Island are ready to give up its secrets. I really don’t want to give away the story, so you’ll have to read it for yourself.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Night Owl Reviews

on Jul 01 2013

This story is the first in a new series entitled Nantucket Brides and I feel it will be devoured by the author’s fans who loved the Montgomery and Taggerts written about in her previous books. Overall, I enjoyed this novel and I’ll eagerly be looking out for more books written by this author.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Book Chick City

Above average
Reviewed by Laura on Jul 09 2013

Despite a couple of parts of the narrative that didn’t quite work, this was a lovely, warm, and richly written book. I love the island setting, and the romance was funny, cosy and satisfying. Plus, I quite fancy running away with ghostly Caleb

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

From the TBR Pile

Reviewed by Kari Boardman on Sep 17 2013

True Love isn't just a romance, there is also a ghost and a hidden treasure. There are a few surprises featuring both. I won't tell, it would ruin it. The author has also given us some wonderful peripheral characters that I hope are featured in the next book.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Sharon's Garden of Book Reviews

Reviewed by Sharon Galligar Chance on Aug 03 2013

For fans of Jude Deveraux's Montgomery and Taggart families, "True Love" will be like a delightful trip back in time as she brings beloved characters from those books into her new story.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Bitten by Love book reviews

Reviewed by Brandy on May 15 2013

I can’t begin to tell you how thrilled and honored that I was able to review True Love. I have loved Ms. Deveraux’s books for many years and this was the icing on the cake for me.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Between The Pages

Reviewed by Daisy on Jul 22 2013

Jude Deveraux combined all those things I love in a romance novel: a heroine I could root for, a manly swoonworthy hero, secondary characters to steal my heart and hold a promise for future books, witty, engaging writing and just a romance that makes me smile!

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Cupcake's Book Cupboard

Reviewed by Cupcake on Jul 07 2013

Alix and Jared's romance is not explicit or overly detailed...I know there are readers out there who do not prefer the hot headboard rocking of Tiffany Reisz or Sylvia Day (or you, Christian Grey), and for them, Jude Deveraux offers a solid alternative.

Read Full Review of True Love (Nantucket Brides T...

Reader Rating for True Love

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1126 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review