Two for Sorrow by Nicola Upson
A New Mystery Featuring Josephine Tey (Josephine Tey Mysteries)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“A new and assured talent….Nicola Upson is to be congratulated.”
—P.D. James

Author Nicola Upson brings legendary mystery writer Josephine Tey back for a third investigation in Two for Sorrow, the spellbinding follow-up to An Expert in Murder and Angel with Two Faces. Fans of P.D. James, Agatha Christie, and Jacqueline Winspear will relish this ingenious literary creation, as one of the most beloved mystery writers of the twentieth century, while doing research for a new novel based on a horrific case of multiple child murder in 1903 London, is drawn into a chillingly related hunt for a sadistic, present-day killer.

 

About Nicola Upson

See more books from this Author
Nicola Upson was born in Suffolk and read English at Downing College, Cambridge. She has worked in theatre and as a freelance journalist, and is the author of two non-fiction works and the recipient of an Escalator Award from the Arts Council England. Her debut novel, An Expert in Murder, was the first in a series of crime novels whose main character is Josephine Tey-one of the leading authors of Britain's Golden Age of crime writing. She lives with her partner in Cambridge and spends much of her time in Cornwall.
 
Published August 9, 2011 by Harper Perennial. 499 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Two for Sorrow

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

When an accident nearly claims the life of Lucy, a Cowdray servant and friend of Marjorie, Penrose zeroes in on secrets she and Marjorie may have shared involving Cowdray personnel—especially Celia Bannerman, a former warder at Holloway during the execution of Amelia Sach and Annie Walters, notor...

| Read Full Review of Two for Sorrow: A New Mystery...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

The 1903 execution of two women convicted for murdering babies, the inspiration for Josephine Tey's novel-in-progress, has serious repercussions more than three decades later in Upson's excellent third mystery featuring the author of The Daughter of Time (after 2010's Angel with Two Faces).

Jun 20 2011 | Read Full Review of Two for Sorrow: A New Mystery...

Historical Novel Society

This is the second in Upson’s planned series of crime novels featuring Josephine Tey, one of the doyennes of the so-called Golden Age of British crime writing in the 1930s.

| Read Full Review of Two for Sorrow: A New Mystery...

Reader Rating for Two for Sorrow
58%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 49 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×