Unapologetic by Francis Spufford
Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.


About Francis Spufford

See more books from this Author
Francis Spufford is the author of The Child That Books Built and two other books. In 2007 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He teaches writing at Goldsmiths College and lives near Cambridge.
Published October 15, 2013 by HarperOne. 232 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for Unapologetic

The Telegraph

Spufford .

Oct 23 2012 | Read Full Review of Unapologetic: Why, Despite Ev...


You can tailor the type of ads you receive by visiting here or to opt out of this type of targeting you can visit the 'Your Online Choices' website by clicking here.

Oct 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Unapologetic: Why, Despite Ev...

London Evening Standard

His argument is right there in the title — why Christianity, despite everything, makes surprising emotional sense — but he refuses to make little of the case against Christianity.

Sep 06 2012 | Read Full Review of Unapologetic: Why, Despite Ev...

Reader Rating for Unapologetic

An aggregated and normalized score based on 65 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review