Unapologetic by Francis Spufford
Why, Despite Everything, Christianity Can Still Make Surprising Emotional Sense

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

C.S. Lewis might not approve of the language, but he’d surely approve of the sentiment. A thought-provoking entertainment.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Francis Spufford's Unapologetic is a wonderfully pugnacious defense of Christianity. Refuting critics such as Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and the "new atheist" crowd, Spufford, a former atheist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, argues that Christianity is recognizable, drawing on the deep and deeply ordinary vocabulary of human feeling, satisfying those who believe in it by offering a ruthlessly realistic account of the grown-up dignity of Christian experience.

Fans of C. S. Lewis, N. T. Wright, Marilynne Robinson, Mary Karr, Diana Butler Bass, Rob Bell, and James Martin will appreciate Spufford's crisp, lively, and abashedly defiant thesis.

Unapologetic is a book for believers who are fed up with being patronized, for non-believers curious about how faith can possibly work in the twenty-first century, and for anyone who feels there is something indefinably wrong, literalistic, anti-imaginative and intolerant about the way the atheist case is now being made.

 

About Francis Spufford

See more books from this Author
Francis Spufford is the author of The Child That Books Built and two other books. In 2007 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He teaches writing at Goldsmiths College and lives near Cambridge.
 
Published October 15, 2013 by HarperOne. 232 pages
Genres: Religion & Spirituality, Biographies & Memoirs. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Unapologetic
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Aug 17 2013

C.S. Lewis might not approve of the language, but he’d surely approve of the sentiment. A thought-provoking entertainment.

Read Full Review of Unapologetic: Why, Despite Ev... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Above average
Reviewed by Richard Holloway on Sep 14 2012

He is also good at describing what it feels like to sit silently in front of the resonant absence and feel beckoned beyond it.

Read Full Review of Unapologetic: Why, Despite Ev... | See more reviews from Guardian

Reader Rating for Unapologetic
77%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 86 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review