Unbound by Steph Jagger
Finding Myself on Top of the World

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

It’s one of many beautiful pieces within the memoir, and some further editing to allow them to shine would have made them more powerful. But despite these storytelling flaws, no one can doubt that what Jagger did was wildly brave, and an example to us all.
-National Post arts

Synopsis

In the tradition of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love comes an epic new story about one woman’s triumph of spirit

Steph Jagger had seen the ski-lift sign thousands of times—“Raise Restraining Device,” it read—but one day she took it personally as a rallying cry to shake off the life she had for the life she wanted. She had always been a force of nature, so why was she still holding herself back? Dissatisfied with the passive, limited roles she saw for women when she was growing up, Steph emulated the men in her life—chasing success, climbing the corporate ladder, ticking the boxes, playing by the rules. She was accomplished. She was living “The Dream.” But it wasn’t her dream.

In a moment, the sign on the ski lift became her mantra, and she knew she had to change her life. So Jagger walked away from the success and security she had worked long and hard to obtain. She quit her job, took a second mortgage on her house, sold everything except her ski equipment and her laptop, and bought a plane ticket. For the next year, she followed winter across five continents on a mission to break the world record for most vertical feet skied in a year. What hiking was for Cheryl Strayed, skiing became for Steph: a crucible in which to crack open her life, melt it down to its elements and get to the very centre of herself. An emotional story of courage and self-discovery that will appeal to readers of Wild and Eat, Pray, Love, Unbound will inspire readers to remove their own restraining devices, whatever they may be.

 

About Steph Jagger

See more books from this Author
Steph Jagger splits her time between Southern California and British Columbia where she dreams big dreams, writes her heart out, and runs an executive & life coaching practice. She holds a CEC (certified Executive Coach) degree from Royal Roads University and she believes courageous living doesn't happen with one toe dangling in, but that we jump in, fully submerge, and sit in the juice. Think pickle, not cucumber.You can find her at www.stephjagger.com or on Instagram @stephjagger
 
Published January 24, 2017 by Harper Wave. 309 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Education & Reference, Sports & Outdoors, Travel, Action & Adventure. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for Unbound
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

National Post arts

Above average
Reviewed by Blair Mlotek on Jan 31 2017

It’s one of many beautiful pieces within the memoir, and some further editing to allow them to shine would have made them more powerful. But despite these storytelling flaws, no one can doubt that what Jagger did was wildly brave, and an example to us all.

Read Full Review of Unbound: Finding Myself on To... | See more reviews from National Post arts

Reader Rating for Unbound
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 27 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×